Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: DEFECTIVE ELAC AF-61
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:27 am 

Hi all!
Just a questions concerning my recent purchase of a new pair of Elac AF-61..
Last August I placed an order with a dealer (sam Kurry) in Laval (Montréal) for a pair of Elac AS-61 ($5059 with taxes)
After many delays, I finally drove 2 hours (up and down) to pick them up at his house (he seems to operate from his garage)
When arriving home, being a sound engineering graduate, I inspected the 2 towers.
To my dismay, when you push gently on the upper passive radiator (there are 3) the coax (mid/tweeter) acted as a port!!!,
air actually coming out of the assembly, WOW (have a video, will post soon)
So I contacted Elac (USA), to find out what is the problem. after many discussions with Elac and the dealer, the dealer wanted to charge me $2527 to bring in a new tower, and then I must drive another 4 hours (not to mention renting a vehicle to bring this large box)
Eventually they dropped the $2527 fee, but still much grief to get a working pair, so I tried to get a refund, but to no avail.

So my question: being that these boxes are made in China, do you all think it s a quality control problem?, and anybody else encountered this defect ?

Post subject: Re: DEFECTIVE ELAC AF-61
PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:58 pm 

Err, stitched up?

I'm in Qc, and any so-called dealer operating 'out of his garage' to sell $5000+ speakers, I'd not use. No, am not trying to be a wise-ar%e, or score points. Possibly you are doing others on CAM a favour in publishing this alert.

You've listened to them?; they are definitely f'd? I assume that they must be.

I hope you paid for these on a credit card. If so, use the might of VISA or M'card.