Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:07 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
I picked up a used cx 830 knowing it had no remote and that it was in the "mute" mode.

I have found a remote that is supposed to work and it's in transit.

Someone from another site suggested shorting a circuit to clear the last stored memory. I have not yet tried this.

I also contacted Yamaha for advice and they responded.

Here is their email.

Good day,
please forgive us for the delay but, we needed to go back pretty far back to find an answer regarding the CX830.

The CX830 does have a MUTE button on the remote. However, it only bring volume down -20db and will not completely Mute audio. Also note that when you simply turn the volume knob on the CX830, it will disable the MUTE.
We do not have a remote in our stock... there's surely some other issue with your preamp and it would not be caused by mute.

Thanks!

Yamaha AVCare


So, my question to those that have a CX 830 is, if you are in mute mode and adjust the volume, does it come out of mute mode? Mine does not.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 7:11 am
Posts: 40
Location: 1000 Islands, ON, CA
I owned a CX-830 and it would come out of mute when the volume was changed or when it was power down so I would say the preamp has an issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Another thing is the volume knob has a little light and mine is not working. So if the volume knob talks to or cancelle's the mute mode, could the non functioning light indicate some sort of problem between the two?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
I thought Yamaha gave you your answer.

The volume negates the mute when moved.

The mute button only decreases the volume by -20db.

There must be something else wrong.
It is possible the volume is non functional.

Is the Audio Muting indicator on?

You can read the manual here...
https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/yamaha/cx-830.shtml

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 2:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Mute indicator is on.
Mute is on.
Volume does work, but does not defeat the mute.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2015 7:52 pm
Posts: 341
Location: North Gower, ON, CA
peterdulux wrote:
Mute indicator is on.
Mute is on.
Volume does work, but does not defeat the mute.


I'm confused, if the Mute is on how do you know if the Volume works other than maybe just turning. I guess you're still getting the reduced sound?
I looked at the Manual and you're supposed to have a transmitter for the remote, do you have that?

At the end of the manual it mentions a process for Unlearning commands that might have been initiated by another Remote, and there a little button to press to Reset it. I don't if the button's on the amp or on that Transmtter?
It certainly looks like a good machine though.
Ott.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 7:20 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Medicine Hat's where E's at, AB, CA
peterdulux wrote:
Another thing is the volume knob has a little light and mine is not working. So if the volume knob talks to or cancelle's the mute mode, could the non functioning light indicate some sort of problem between the two?


How sure are you that there's a light on the volume knob itself?
I ask because none of the available web images show a light on the units that are displayed in the "On" state.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 1:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:30 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
So I got a remote from Flea Bay, RX 930.

I got it out of mute and controls all other functions.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CX 830 owners, help
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
peterdulux wrote:
So I got a remote from Flea Bay, RX 930.

I got it out of mute and controls all other functions.

Glad to hear.
So is the manual volume control pooched?

I have a B&K Processor, and have never used the manual volume control, only the remote...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group