Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 6:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:37 am
Posts: 1125
Location: Ancaster, ON, CA
A power failure in my room led me to find that the ENTIRE ROOM is on one breaker - four filled outlets (including a space heater) on one wire! A repair is in order. But in the meantime, and not wanting to miss any tunes, I plugged a 30' power cord into an outlet located on the main panel (on one breaker). This runs just two items (amp, transport), in the room, off a Crappy Tire power bar. WUNDEBAR! This change alone has opened up the soundstage, deepened the blackness, and solidified the bass like no other single change I have made.

I cannot believe how much better the sound is.


Attachments:
IMG_0031.JPG
IMG_0031.JPG [ 398.76 KiB | Viewed 1708 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9840
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
If you can bypass the power bar and put your amp directly to the receptacle, it may sound even better....

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:37 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 14985
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
...or the long cord may be filtering out some hash...

_________________
To a hammer, everything looks like a nail


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:45 pm
Posts: 962
Location: Rockwood, ON, CA
Ran two separate circuits a few years back with heavy gauge cryo-treated wire. Good tweak.


Last edited by milesian on Sun May 13, 2018 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 781
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
It's what happens when there's nothing corrupting the earth/neutral line.

G


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:44 pm
Posts: 720
Location: Repentigny, QC, CA
If you run more than one AC circuit to your hifi make sure they are on the same electrical phase.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 8:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 2472
Location: saskatoon, SK, CA
Yup...current layout allowed me to easily run a dedicated 20A line. Worth the effort imo.

_________________
You like that Redgren Grumbholdt reference? Yeah. Well, guess what? I made him up. You really are your father's children. Think for yourselves. Don't be sheep.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2016 6:21 am
Posts: 50
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
Yup...current layout allowed me to easily run a dedicated 20A line. Worth the effort imo.


I'll be doing the exact same thing later this summer :D

Too many people having good experience with this to pass it up :D

_________________
This is me: http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/view_userimages.php?user_id=97484


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9840
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
Yup...current layout allowed me to easily run a dedicated 20A line. Worth the effort imo.

Me too, almost 10 years ago. The Pass amp is plugged directly into a receptacle, the rest through a power bar.

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:37 am
Posts: 1125
Location: Ancaster, ON, CA
I was truly surprised at 'any improvement' as I was just trying to make it possible to listen to some music with the power issue. I had to pull out all the reference works to prove it was real, and it was. Sheet...there is so much more air! I'm NOT going back and will run two new lines for two boxes with Power Ports (or better) as I had. Sweet!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2016 6:01 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
All the tweeks we do to get those speakers sounding their best ever . Mission accomplished except when we now evaluate said speakers we really aren’t happy with the way they sound. Amplifiers, cables,power -bars - conditioners , Interconnects, cones, etc.etc. Then we buy new speakers and repeat. At least it’s been my experience. It’s all a temporary fix.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 11:28 am 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:01 pm
Posts: 367
Location: CAMBRIDGE, ON, CA
revoxb77 wrote:
If you run more than one AC circuit to your hifi make sure they are on the same electrical phase.


Can you explain this to me please as I am currently running two 10guage BX cables to two recepticles (in case I get some mono blocks)
Same phase as in same bus bar in the breaker panel?

_________________
8) My View of me - Audiophile on a mission!!!
:roll: Wife's View of me - Audiophile on a budget!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 12:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:37 am
Posts: 1125
Location: Ancaster, ON, CA
Gerhard Roemer wrote:
It’s all a temporary fix.


Hours of frustration for fleeting moments of bliss.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 15, 2013 5:12 pm
Posts: 97
Location: Bowser, BC, CA
Great post! I've recently pulled the trigger on upgraded power cords, receptacles and fuses. Just waiting on my electrician to wire up the dedicated AC. If you have the time/money, I think it's a great upgrade. Very excited to see what it brings to the table.

Hours of frustration for fleeting moments of bliss? That's the name of the game! :lol:

_________________
Amp: Line Magnetic 508
Pre amp: LTA MZ2
DAC: LKS MH DA004
Turntable: Rega RP1 w/ Rega Fono Mini A2D
CD Player: NAD 517
Speakers: ANK Kit 03 :D
Misc: Auralic Aries Mini, Space Tech ASX 103, TakeFiveAudio power/interconnects


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 3:38 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:17 am
Posts: 14985
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
AHarris wrote:
I was truly surprised at 'any improvement' as I was just trying to make it possible to listen to some music with the power issue. I had to pull out all the reference works to prove it was real, and it was. Sheet...there is so much more air! I'm NOT going back and will run two new lines for two boxes with Power Ports (or better) as I had. Sweet!!

Wouldn't it be funny if the silver bullet that brought out the better sound turned out to be the extension cord. :lol:

Seriously though, taking the heater off the circuit was a big plus. :)

_________________
To a hammer, everything looks like a nail


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cmercer, racecars, ripblade and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group