Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:39 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Spotify streaming
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 5:41 am 

I just downloaded Spotify on my desktop computer
I have a WD LIVE box and also a android box
I don't seem to be able to receive Spotify on either one of them ??
I would like to run Spotify into my WD LIVE box since it is hooked up to my DAC
My WD LIVE is wireless..Would I be able to download the spotify app to my phone and then send a wireless singal to the WD
Or would there be a better way???
Maybe chromecast
I'm just new to this field and need all the help I can get

Thanks

Post subject: Re: Spotify streaming
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:51 am 

Seems Spotify dropped support for the WD Live. Not sure why. Can you not install the Spotify app on your Android box?
Alternative is the $50 Chromecast Audio

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:40 am 

I did actually install it on my android box..but it won't work??..I get the Spotify page but there are no selection to pick from??
So could I plug the Chromecast Audio into my TV or could I plug it into my WD box
Do you get the picture on the TV screen from the Chromecast Audio??? I have never seen this product in use??

Thanks

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:49 am 

There are 2 different Chromecast’s (well technically 3). One that does video via HDMI and the other that is strictly audio that you can connect through either 3.5mm connection (could also do 3.5mm to RCA) or through TOSLINK into a DAC.

Simple video showing the 3.5mm connection and setup. I'm, sure there are better videos on Youtube - this was the first that came up in my search.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7-RsKhcAdA

You can buy them online or through store retailers.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 1:16 pm 

thanks for the great information
SO could I do TOSLINK into a DAC. and a HDMI to the TV for the picture??