Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: what do I want?
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 5:54 am 

I am completely new to this but I want to set up a Vintage audio system I have a Sony TA 2650 Amp (I like it) Am looking for a suitable tuner must be Sony The 2950 seems to be the intended tuner for this amp They seem to be scarce Is this what I should look for? I believe my amp is entry level but I would like to get a matching tuner for it then possibly upgrade everything I would like to get a Marantz Receiver at some point I presently use the Sony amp with an AGS AF 374 tuner Akai cassette deck Pioneer CD player and Dual turntable hooked to Cerwin Vega D-3's and JVC SK-404 speakers By the way my volume when using the tuner is considerably less than when using another component Is this normal? I use a Hitachi EQ and it seems to make up the difference Any info will be much appreciated

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 6:56 pm 

It's normal that one component sound louder than the other.

Are you interested in hifi or you want to stay with mid-fi?

Post subject: Hi-fi Mid-fi
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 1:56 am 

What is the difference I know what each term means but not how they relate to Audio components Where does it change from one to the other ? Is it based on price age power or manufacturer? What makes my components "mid-fi" and not "hi-fi"?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 5:38 am 

It doesn't have to be expensive but It surely can be.

We can see how mid-fi and Hifi differ from different stand point: