Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:11 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 5:26 am
Posts: 218
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
Hey all, I've recently added an older power amp into my setup. I'm using an integrated as a preamp, and it can be switched from standby to on via remote control.

I'd love to figure out how to use the remote to turn on my power amp after turning on the pre. There are no triggers or anything like on either of them.

Any thoughts? I'm considering some kind of master-controlled power strip, which I guess would be triggered by the preamp coming out of standby, but I have no experience with this. Would love some advice.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:21 pm 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 6:14 am
Posts: 1738
Location: Davidson, SK, CA
The convenience factor is heavily outweighed by the crushing of dynamics your system will have by plugging into a triggered power strip.

Clean, as close to direct power, is extremely important with a system.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

_________________
Davidson Home Audio Designs


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
You need a current-sensing power bar.

Function: there's a master outlet.
When current is pulled from this outlet, it triggers all other outlets.
And vice-versa.

So when you'll power on your integrated, your amp will receive power.
When you'll shut off your integrated, your amp will shut off too.

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3319
Location: London, ON, CA
You can buy a Power Line Conditioner like the PS Audio Power Plant Premier.
Just an example.
https://www.psaudio.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/premier-power-plant1.pdf

It has switched outlets, and timed switched outlets.

Many will tell you not to plug your amp into one.

I have an ACE-615 (Adcom), I have done extensive testing with amp connected
and direct to an outlet, no differences where found.

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

https://www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
AudiOhm wrote:
You can buy a Power Line Conditioner like the PS Audio Power Plant Premier.
Just an example.
Yes he can.
But the price just to switch his amp on... ouch

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3319
Location: London, ON, CA
Nakamichel wrote:
AudiOhm wrote:
You can buy a Power Line Conditioner like the PS Audio Power Plant Premier.
Just an example.
Yes he can.
But the price just to switch his amp on... ouch

Just an example, there are many other choices on the market, not many have a remote control...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

https://www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
Ohms, he already has a remote on his integrated. :D
two2the8 wrote:
...I'm using an integrated as a preamp, and it can be switched from standby to on via remote control.

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3319
Location: London, ON, CA
Nakamichel wrote:
Ohms, he already has a remote on his integrated. :D
two2the8 wrote:
...I'm using an integrated as a preamp, and it can be switched from standby to on via remote control.

That remote is not able to do what they want.

Your example is?

They could buy one of these, but I would not use it for my audio equipment...
https://www.amazon.ca/Energy-Protector-Autoswitching-Technology-10-Outlet/dp/B0006PUDQK

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

https://www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
My english is nowhere near as good as all of yours guys.

But what I understand of his demand is:
two2the8 wrote:
I'd love to figure out how to use the remote to turn on my power amp after turning on the pre.
There are no triggers or anything like on either of them.
He has a remote controlled integrated and want to know what to do to use it to also power on his amp.

two2the8 wrote:
I'm considering some kind of master-controlled power strip,
which I guess would be triggered by the preamp coming out of standby,
but I have no experience with this. Would love some advice.
It looks like he already knows what he needs but don't know how it's called
and don't know how it actually works.

So, my 1st post tells him that it's called a current-sensing power bar
and I explained the function (how it works).

I could actually be very wrong. You tell me.

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3319
Location: London, ON, CA
When I recommend something I give an example, a link to an actual product.

They can review that item, do research on similar items, and make a purchase on their findings.

If they choose not to, my feelings are not hurt...

They could try something like this.
https://www.amazon.ca/Etekcity-Programmable-Wireless-Control-Learning/dp/B00DQELHBS

Purchase a universal remote, like this.
https://www.amazon.ca/Logitech-Harmony-Remote-Control-Clamshell/dp/B004QHPZ5S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1541081469&sr=8-1&keywords=universal+remote+harmony

Then do some research to see if the Harmony will be able to control this outlet...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

https://www.leohl.ca


Last edited by AudiOhm on Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
I guessed that the guy will naturally type "current-sensing power bar" in Google and choose the one he wants.
But I'm sorry to have mis-guessed.

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
None of your links do what he asked.

He wants to use the remote he already has to switch on his power amp.
Maybe it is good to give links as example as you said,
but at least give links that answer his demand.

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3319
Location: London, ON, CA
Nakamichel wrote:
None of your links do what he asked.

He wants to use the remote he already has to switch on his power amp.
Maybe it is good to give links as example as you said,
but at least give links that answer his demand.

I am giving them options, they can choose to ignore them, why must you be so...

I won't put it in words but another blocked person is initiated...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

https://www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 5:08 am
Posts: 795
Location: Montréal, QC, CA
I answered correctly, you didn't.

Then why now you are mad at me.
Unbelievable...

Come on, he's asking coffee, you offer tea...
How this could help ?

Ohms you are overreacting here,
now forget all of this and have a good day my friend. :wink:

_________________
Keep things simple and even simpler
Nakamichi BX-300/Balance BW-1010 DAC, Balance MR-50R, Infinity RS 8 Kappa
Nakamichi Dragon/Onix Dac25b, Audio Research SP-9, Spectral DMA-100s/Nakamichi PA-7II, Martin-Logan CLSII/Balance Helicia


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 6:38 am
Posts: 26
Location: Mississauga, ON, CA
This is what I used to activate some prosound amps used for subs

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00WV7GMA2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

One of the reviews:
Used this to remotely trigger a subwoofer amplifier (that did not have auto-turn on or its own trigger input) to power on/off with an AVR (using a wall wart plugged into the switched AC outlet on the AVR). Worked great - just make sure to observe correct polarity on the trigger input if using a DC power supply.

I used the remote 12vdc out from my prepro and it activates it everytime.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group