Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Edmonton, AB, CA
RobChamp, thanks for confirming my suspicions.
But I think the two types of ground do meet when using the method
whereby you connect the chassis ground by way of screws together with
RCA signal ground all star grounded to a grounding block, which in turn
connects to the wall ground.
To prevent ground loops, wouldn't it be advisable to keep the grounding schemes
separate? One could use the box with crystals for the signal ground, then separately,
use the wall grounded box for chassis screws.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 12450
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Is the box grounded?

If so, why not replace the contents of the box with a large wattage resistor?

_________________
I'm sure that the term "resolving" has way more to do with a sense of self worth than any scientific principle. - davinci_redux


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 784
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Voodoo Funk wrote:
Erik wrote:
Are you connecting the signal grounds on each monoblock?


Yes.

I have a 3rd ground available on the box...on the advice of Wynn at Wynn Audio I have ordered a cable that will connect the box to the 'ground' on my outlet.

I would have used it for my preamp but it is about 25 ft away!!!

Wynn states that greatest success seems to be achieved when you are able to ground directly to the electrical panel!!!


Be aware that busing left/right grounds in dual mono/monoblock electronics will muck up the crosstalk.
One of the reasons to run dual mono.

G

from AudioPrecision


Attachments:
Screenshot_2018-08-09 More about Crosstalk - Audio Precision.png
Screenshot_2018-08-09 More about Crosstalk - Audio Precision.png [ 82.62 KiB | Viewed 353 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 12450
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
sasquatch wrote:
Be aware that busing left/right grounds in dual mono/monoblock electronics will muck up the crosstalk.
One of the reasons to run dual mono.


"Muck up" means increase. Whereas, dual mono is supposed to decrease crosstalk, which is desireable.

What increasing cross-talk does is it essentially adds a monaural signal to the replay. So center images will seem stronger. However, this is distortion... the left channel signal is not supposed to influence the right channel and vice versa.

_________________
I'm sure that the term "resolving" has way more to do with a sense of self worth than any scientific principle. - davinci_redux


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 12:14 pm
Posts: 52
Location: Edmonton, AB, CA
Some of the upper models of Entreq, tripoint and synergistic are connected to wall ground
whether they have crystals in them or not.
Similarly, some components have their signal ground connected to chassis ground, and some do not.
I suppose all these variables brings us back to try it and see.
it may or may not provide an uptick in SQ on any given system...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:07 am 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:44 pm
Posts: 6688
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Here's a short read on peoples experiences with ENTREQ grounding boxes:

https://www.whatsbestforum.com/showthre ... ng/page284

_________________
I Put A Spell On You!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Grounding Box
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:38 am
Posts: 5
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Jhorkulak, I think you are correct. But first you should first have a look look at your amp and/or preamp. Do they have 3-prong AC plugs? If they do, it's likely that the chassis is electrically grounded. If that's the case, you are correct that you should keep the signal/noise grounding separate.

In my case, I have a vintage Carver MRX-130 receiver which has only a 2-prong plug and therefore an isolated chassis. The ground screw is internally connect directly to the chassis, so is part of my signal/noise grounding.

I upgraded the AC power cords of the Carver and my Sansui turntable with Belden 19364 shielded power cable. I tried connecting the AC ground wire to the receiver's chassis and, no surprise, lots of noise. Instead, I connect the shielding to my signal/noise ground system. The made a huge difference: the noise level dropped dramatically!

I agree that the ground box should only be connected to the signal/noise ground system.

You should also use good quality wire for grounding. Kimber TCX 15awg hookup wire was recommend by the folks at Parts Connection in Burlington ON Kimber Wire TCX 15awg


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group