Canuck Audio MartCanuck Audio Mart
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:27 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:46 pm 

hi there, I am somewhat new to fussing with audio equipment although well experienced with listening to music.
I picked up a pair of Mirage 390si towers & pair of Paradigm 11se mkII towers for way too cheap today. I am going to have to give up one of the pairs (due to lack of space). I really like the sound of both pairs, the Mirages are a much smaller speaker than the paradigms and don't have the same power capabilities but have a great sound. I am finding it hard to compare the two knowing one has got to go, I was hoping some people could throw some opinions my way.

the paradigms have 2x 8" drivers and a tweeter, 3 ports on the back
4 ohm impedance
160w max

and here is some info i found on the mirages:
System Type - 2-Way Forward Radiating Floorstanding Speaker
Frequency Response - 35Hz~22KHz +/- 3dB
Tweeter - Single 1" Vapour Deposited Titanium Dome
Midrange/Woofer - Single 6-1/2" Polypropylene Cone
X-Over Points - 1.8 Khz
Room Efficiency 89dB
Nomimal Impedance - 8 Ohms
Minimum Impedance - 4 Ohms
Maximum Power Handling - 125 Watts

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:32 am 

Welcome to CAM!

Expect a number of replies and opinions, and you can read them till you're dizzy.......

The ONLY thing that matters is what YOU hear, and the one you like better between the two - from your description, it sounds like you prefer the Mirage......

Happy listening! 8)

Post subject: mirage vs Paradigm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:48 am 

I would first inquire if there are still replacement parts for each speaker if you plan on keeping them for the long haul.Keep the one that there are still replacement parts for.
Some manufacturers have run out of replacement woofers and tweeters, so if one tweeter goes or the foam surrounds rot, what you have to spend and what you get might not make that speaker such a deal.