Canuck Audio MartCanuck Audio Mart
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Classe reliability
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:26 am 

Hi ,
I am considering buying a Classe dr 25, 25 or other amps from Classe second hand to go with my venerable dr 5 preamp. I have no experience with these amps and was wondering what the reliability is like . In the past I have owned primarily Rotel (unbelievable - have had 4 rotels , never a problem, ownly blown fuses due to my carelessness) and Bryston (did have a problem with my 3B NRB but it was fixed-actually almost totally rebuilt- under warranty even thought I was the 3rd Owner of the amp).

I would like to try out a classe amp but am a little hesitant as Classe do not come with the famous 20 yr transferable warranty like Bryston.

Anyways any advice from past experience with used Classe amplifiers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
ODSMAN

Post subject: Classe
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 8:07 am 

Never had any issues with my older DR series, they work flawlessly.I have no experience with any of the newer stuff.Very reliable I don't think you would have much to worry about,they were built to last,and used to be lifetime warranty to original owner, which is better than 20 year especially if you are a young person.My amps never run hot and barely warm,and are bridged mono to over 500 a side in 4 ohms.True balanced amps as well ,I believe.You would have to spend a lot more money to better the Classe amps of yesterday.My amps have driven easy loads like Heron i speakers and difficult load of Martin Logan CLS.Never a problem.You should give the ones you are interested in an audition.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:24 pm 

Chuck Lee said:
You would have to spend a lot more money to better the Classe amps of yesterday.