Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 4:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Pre-DAC? Source Switcher
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 98
Location: etobicoke, ON, CA
I have an Auralic ARK MX+ DAC that I really like, but it only accepts one source at a time.

I'd like to be able to use my DAC with multiple sources without having to manually swap cables in the back of the unit. Is there a device for such a thing?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:20 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Delta, BC, CA
There are switchers for Toslink/SPDIF.... if you are using optical outputs to the DAC optical input, Or Coax, than you could get a optical, Coax switcher...

I use one in the family room, Playstations, Xboxes, Blueray, Streamer....needed 6 in all and the processor did not have enough room.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
Not that hard to find...

https://www.amazon.ca/Splitter-Aluminum-Material-Dolby-AC3-Converter/dp/B0791CNDHW/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1534716372&sr=8-6&keywords=toslink+switcher

https://www.amazon.ca/TNP-Toslink-Digital-Optical-Control/dp/B01HO0TITC/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1534716372&sr=8-9&keywords=toslink+switcher

https://www.cs1.net/products/audio_authority/1177A-1-.htm

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 1:54 pm
Posts: 648
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
What are your source outputs? AES, toslink/optical, bnc, spdif, USB?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
Sorry I thought that you had an optical in, my first 2 links are useless.
Attachment:
auralicarkmx.jpg
auralicarkmx.jpg [ 103.16 KiB | Viewed 726 times ]

Looks like you have USB and Coax inputs only...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 2:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2869
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
with those inputs then you need a dac that outputs coax. It essentially passes the signal and operates as a hub.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 3:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
I think they want a Pre-DAC? Source Switcher...

Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 4:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 98
Location: etobicoke, ON, CA
Exactly. Thanks for the suggestion. It's not exactly what I need since I use the USB input as well, but it's closer to what I'm looking for.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 5:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 12405
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
How about a Dac with multiple inputs?

_________________
I'm sure that the term "resolving" has way more to do with a sense of self worth than any scientific principle. - davinci_redux


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 24, 2018 6:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:18 pm
Posts: 98
Location: etobicoke, ON, CA
But I like my Auralic so :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2869
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
I owned this unit for a time. it would provide what you are looking for as an input selector, via remote even, and then pass the signal via coax or tossing to your Auralic.
http://www.essenceelectrostatic.com/product/hdacc/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:58 am
Posts: 102
Location: Anytown, ON, CA
Some thing like these with the correct rca to bnc or rca to f connector will do it while preserving the impedance and isolation needed .


https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=BNC+Manual+Switch+BOX&_sacat=0

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Switch+Coaxial+RF+abc&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&_osacat=0&_odkw=Switch+Coaxial+RF&LH_TitleDesc=0

Add remote to the search terms and get more results .


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2869
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
doctortube wrote:
Some thing like these with the correct rca to bnc or rca to f connector will do it while preserving the impedance and isolation needed .


https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=BNC+Manual+Switch+BOX&_sacat=0

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Switch+Coaxial+RF+abc&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&_osacat=0&_odkw=Switch+Coaxial+RF&LH_TitleDesc=0

Add remote to the search terms and get more results .

these appear to be for video


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:58 am
Posts: 102
Location: Anytown, ON, CA
mpublicover wrote

[/quote]
these appear to be for video[/quote]

Yes they are .They will switch digital audio without issue . I have done it until I could find a more elegant solution


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group