Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 9:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 8:27 pm
Posts: 154
Location: Langley, BC, CA
I have a Classe DR4 Preamp and love it.

BUT

There is no on and off switch and according to the manual it's fine to leave it on all the time but it drives me nuts so I'm always un-plugging the power cord.

My concern is that over time this will wear out or damage the power cable input.

Can anyone recommend some kind of power switch box or any other kind of solution (Don't want to use another power bar)?

Thanx. KB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:11 am
Posts: 749
Location: Quebec, QC, CA
leave it on...it will deliver peak performance


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 736
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Power switch where the fuse is then internal fuse holder.

G


Attachments:
Classe_DR-42.jpg
Classe_DR-42.jpg [ 163.35 KiB | Viewed 622 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:50 pm
Posts: 191
Location: dundas, ON, CA
fr8train wrote:
I have a Classe DR4 Preamp and love it.

BUT

There is no on and off switch and according to the manual it's fine to leave it on all the time but it drives me nuts so I'm always un-plugging the power cord.

My concern is that over time this will wear out or damage the power cable input.

Can anyone recommend some kind of power switch box or any other kind of solution (Don't want to use another power bar)?

Thanx. KB

Why does it drive you nuts?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:06 pm
Posts: 1245
Location: hawkesbury, ON, CA
i have a krell pre amp. wich is also like that .in the case of the krell it is class A. it is because those pre amp will sound better when warm. it is said to consume only 15 watt, the company recommended to keep it on.
I unplug it only if I know I am not going to use it for a while. but that dosen t happen often.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:49 am
Posts: 1932
Location: Fairport Beach (in Pickering), ON, CA
renehuot70 wrote:
leave it on...it will deliver peak performance


+1

_________________
Tom

Collecting vintage tube Pilot (Pilotone) HiFi gear.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:25 am
Posts: 247
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Dave Reich didn't forget to design it with a power switch. Leave it on. There's a useful mute switch instead.

My DR7 has a power switch on the back of the power supply chassis, but not on the preamp chassis itself.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:39 pm
Posts: 159
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
If you are worried about power consumption, either for cost or environmental reasons, ask Classe what the standby power consumption is and then work out the cost per year or the draw on the electrical system.
This could be easily figured out...my guess is 24 hours of standby takes less energy/cost than making a cup of coffee on a Nespresso machine.
Happy listening


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 287
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
Tom_r wrote:
renehuot70 wrote:
leave it on...it will deliver peak performance


+1


Agreed


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 12:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:37 am
Posts: 31
Location: St-Jerome, QC, CA
I’ve had a Classe DR2 and for the 7 year, it stil on and never had a disfonction. There Was an on/off switch on it but I never use it...except When I sold it or change the system place... you don’t have to wait till it is hot to have his full potential.if I remember well, it was written to keep it on...but i’m not sure...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:25 am
Posts: 247
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Lirodom wrote:
I’ve had a Classe DR2 and for the 7 year, it stil on and never had a disfonction. There Was an on/off switch on it but I never use it...except When I sold it or change the system place... you don’t have to wait till it is hot to have his full potential.if I remember well, it was written to keep it on...but i’m not sure...


The amps are a different story. The mute button on the pre will protect the amp/speakers, but the amp has no such device (or other protection ftm). Also, DR2/3 amps were biased in total class A so unlike the pre, leaving them on will cause lots of excess heat and electricity consumption. The extreme heat also affected the life span of some of the internal components (I do leave my DR3 on almost all the time though).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:37 pm
Posts: 3248
Location: London, ON, CA
As asked earlier, what is driving you nuts?

I always find it best to refer to the manual as you did.

https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/classe-audio/dr-4.shtml

Page - 5.
Power consumption is minimal, and to leave it on, this is why there is no on/off switch.

Regards
Ohms

_________________
“It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled.” ----Mark Twain

www.leohl.ca


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 8:20 am
Posts: 234
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
fr8train wrote:
I have a Classe DR4 Preamp and love it.

BUT

There is no on and off switch and according to the manual it's fine to leave it on all the time but it drives me nuts so I'm always un-plugging the power cord.

My concern is that over time this will wear out or damage the power cable input.

Can anyone recommend some kind of power switch box or any other kind of solution (Don't want to use another power bar)?

Thanx. KB


Your best option is to leave it on, but, if it really bothers you that much, plug it into something with an off switch.

_________________
Got Hi-Fi?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 6:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 4:50 pm
Posts: 12409
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Do you unplug your fridge when you leave the house? Or your alarm clock?

It's meant to be left on.

Power cycling is hard on equipment.

I've got a phono section that's been left on for at least a couple years now....

_________________
I'm sure that the term "resolving" has way more to do with a sense of self worth than any scientific principle. - davinci_redux


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: CLASSE DR4 ???
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 736
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Speculating but no preamp power switch insures no power up/down thumps should you forget the sequence.

G


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group