Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:36 am
Posts: 565
Location: scarborough, ON, CA
I'm doing a reno to a portion of my basement. Having a lot of the ceiling open I could run a dedicated 20 amp circuit to my stereo area.
While it's not really cost prohibitive (in a basic sense), I'm on the fence.
If I decide to go for it, would basic 14/2 wire really make a difference?
Is there an alternative type of wire?
Anyone gone this route, whether you used standard wire or something different and found it was an improvement?
Thanks to all that comment.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 2316
Location: saskatoon, SK, CA
why have others run a dedicated circuit?

if the room is gutted and that one circuit is not cost prohibitive then what's stopping you?

_________________
You like that Redgren Grumbholdt reference? Yeah. Well, guess what? I made him up. You really are your father's children. Think for yourselves. Don't be sheep.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 662
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
12/2 required for 20amp breaker.

G


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:36 am
Posts: 565
Location: scarborough, ON, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
why have others run a dedicated circuit?

if the room is gutted and that one circuit is not cost prohibitive then what's stopping you?


I can pull the wire. I would rather hire an electrician than need the fire department.
We all make choices.

-- 22 Jun 2018 23:43 --

sasquatch wrote:
12/2 required for 20amp breaker.

G


Thanks Gary. Taking into consideration the the gauge of wire, would it improve or change anything over what I currently have?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 10:24 am
Posts: 1505
Location: Bradford, ON, CA
I did it at my old house and it was worth it in just peace of mind alone. Knowing that any issues I had with hum or anything else were due to something with my stereo, be it tubes or whatever, rather than running through a process of elimination because there so much other crap on the circuit.

Dimmers, lamps with outboard power supply, bar fridge, etc.... can all be a contributing factor to noise, and you won't realise how much was there until you do what you can to eliminate it, spend and extra $100 or so and get a cryo treated outlet from Take Five or your favourite vendor to get the most out of your efforts.

In the end I just can't see how you would be disappointed since you have the chance to do it now on the cheap (comparatively)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 2316
Location: saskatoon, SK, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
why have others run a dedicated circuit?

if the room is gutted and that one circuit is not cost prohibitive then what's stopping you?


I can pull the wire. I would rather hire an electrician than need the fire department.
We all make choices.

[/quote]




I don't understand. if money is not an issue than an electrician is not a factor.

given the current rooms state this is the perfect opportunity.

I hinted for you to Google the benefits of a dedicated line.

your "we make choices" comment has me scratching my head.

_________________
You like that Redgren Grumbholdt reference? Yeah. Well, guess what? I made him up. You really are your father's children. Think for yourselves. Don't be sheep.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 662
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Being more robust and dedicated will clean up the neutral/ground.
Just make sure no loops,twists or sharp bends when you or the electrician
pulls the wire from panel to outlet(s).

Gary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 368
Location: Toronto
Do it if it's cheap or if you think you might be second guessing yourself if you don't. If you're looking for support statements, I have two and believe they make a difference even though I only use 15 amp cords.
I installed the outlets and pulled my own wires which was the bulk of the work but had an electrician connect to the panel.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:36 am
Posts: 565
Location: scarborough, ON, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
BinkyTheCat wrote:
why have others run a dedicated circuit?

if the room is gutted and that one circuit is not cost prohibitive then what's stopping you?


I can pull the wire. I would rather hire an electrician than need the fire department.
We all make choices.



Sorry Blinky,
I agree this is the opportunity to run the circuit.
I have hired an electrician, he is doing a bunch of stuff regarding the reno, so he will be doing the work.
I didn't make that clear.
Paul



I don't understand. if money is not an issue than an electrician is not a factor.

given the current rooms state this is the perfect opportunity.

I hinted for you to Google the benefits of a dedicated line.

your "we make choices" comment has me scratching my head.[/quote]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:11 am
Posts: 101
Location: Edmonton, AB, CA
sasquatch wrote:
12/2 required for 20amp breaker.

G

Yep, when our house was built and I asked the electrician for one dedicated 20 amp circuit, he indicated the need for 12 gauge cable.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9476
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
Yup, did the 12 g 20 amp. Cut out some circuit interference. Wired it myself. 20 years previous, I did a whole basement FR installation and other stuff.. 9 years ago we redid the kitchen and had a pro do what I needed there, he then inspected the whole basement and audio job I did and said 'totally up to code - perfect'. I read a library book back in the day. No google then...

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:45 pm
Posts: 944
Location: Rockwood, ON, CA
Check Take Five Audio for their cryogenic wire, and audiophile outlets. Cost a bit more but might as well go for all the tweaks now and not have to wonder about them later.

_________________
Decware SE84UFO2... Naim Uniti Atom... Omega SAM's... TEO GC Liquid Cables... Equi-Core 1200 Power Conditioner... RaspberryPi... Hifiberry Amp/DAC2... Cambridge Audio WS30.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 200
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
If you're going to run a 20A circuit, run 2. You never know what you'll buy in the future that may need more juice.

I have a 20A circuit for my LR system, then when I bought my Krell, it strongly recommended it's own dedicated 20A. So I ran a second. In my case the basement ceiling is a dropped ceiling, so it was fairly easy.

_________________
Audio: JMLab Mezzo Utopias, Oracle Delphi Mk 1/6, SME V, Koetsu Urushi Vermillion, AR Ref 3, AR Ref Phono2 SE, AR Ref75SE, AR CD3, MD FT101
Video: Anthem AVM60, Krell 402e, Totem Mani2 M1 ctr Mite s/b, Storm sub Rega P6/RB2K, Steelhead


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:41 am
Posts: 356
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
When you have the electrician there. Install the best 20 amp breaker. there are cheap ones and much better ones. Also look at having the main panel grounded for lightning. This will also help your circuit from frying everything attached to it. Lastly install the upgraded wall outlet . There are posts out there as to the ones to use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:38 am
Posts: 17
Location: Guelph, ON, CA
I added a dedicated 20 amp circuit when i had my house rewired. Its dirt cheap. I had the electrician put the breaker on the “quiet” side of the box where the big appliances wern’t. I think it made a small difference. Compare to cyro treated (try explaining that to an electrcian) outlets I think it’s a sensible cost effective move. What you avoid is the possible hum or distortion when someone powers up something on the same cicuit.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: analogluvr, Blake, Uunderhill and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group