Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 4:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
Thank you in advance for your helpful reply.
Is it correct to have phono stage without ground wire to amplifier?
Does anybody further ground phono stage at amplifier?
I suspect my connections are proper and my turntable is grounded to phono stage.
I,ve noticed some noise at 1/3 volume and buzz gets louder with higher volume.
When using amplifier with built in phono it's quiet.
Using the separate phono stage enables better setup in room and allows some distance between other components.
Cables are Red River Audioquest.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 4:37 am 
Online

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2702
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
I have had that same situation. Surely someone will explain why but my solution was to run the ground to the amp and RCA through the phono stage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 5:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 7:49 am
Posts: 1866
Location: Fairport Beach (in Pickering), ON, CA
Do what works. I am not using any ground wires from the TT or tonearm and beyond to the SUT and phono stage and my system is dead quiet.

_________________
Tom

Collecting vintage tube Pilot (Pilotone) HiFi gear.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
I tried no ground connection anywhere, I get hum and more buzz, so that idea is a no for sure.
I didn't know if the phono stage grounded to the amp may possibly harm anything, as I have little electric experience.
Another idea I've seen is to use a power cable with plug having both power prongs cut off from the plug and using just the ground plugged into wall outlet while the cord is wired and grounded to the phono stage. I really did not want to try this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 10:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
mpublicover wrote:
I have had that same situation. Surely someone will explain why but my solution was to run the ground to the amp and RCA through the phono stage.



I just tried that now, there's no change. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 10:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:14 am
Posts: 1726
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
If your Phono stage is in very close proximity to your preamp/amp try moving it..Obviuously make sure your IC's are firmly seated...

_________________
Too much music not enough time..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:43 am
Posts: 1058
Location: Stratford, ON, CA
Hi,

Note to nickthecanuck. Ground loop hums and noise are often devilishly hard to trace. What you have got to do is experiment around and not be afraid of any electrical issues. There is no electrical current running through the ground wires or the ground plane that can do anything to either you or the equipment. So experiment.

First, detach the phono interconnect cable ground wire (which usually runs to the phono pre-amp or to the amp if there is no phono pre) and see what you have to start with. Then take that wire and move it around so that it is in contact with various other components in your system. It is really really important that the ground wire contact is made to a bare chassis piece of metal and not something that is painted. You can fool yourself if you are not careful, and a secure contact is even better than just touching bare metal. If you can find a contact point where there is a reduction in hum then get a piece of hook-up wire (stranded and maybe 22 guage) and link that point to another component point. Again, experiment around.

The next option is to 'lift the ground'. Pro audio guys do this a lot when they have to set up a concert in a venue where there are ground loops that will not yield. You mentioned that when you plug the phono cables into your amp that the hum disappears. This indicates to me that the source is in the external phono-preamp. You need a cheater plug - available at most surplus stores. It allows you to plug in a three prong plug (from a component) and then you plug the cheater which has only two AC prongs into an AC source. The ground is bypassed. This usually works but may require you to retry the procedures listed in paragraph two above once again.

Cheers,
David Neice

_________________
Chinese Proverb: 'Man who waits for roast duck to fly into mouth, waits very, very long time'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 642
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Start with the interconnects.
Audioquest interconnects are not true coax.

G


Attachments:
Screenshot-2018-5-20 EST016_Ground_Loops_handout pdf.png
Screenshot-2018-5-20 EST016_Ground_Loops_handout pdf.png [ 140.63 KiB | Viewed 879 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 11:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9360
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
What phono stage is it? If it has a wall-wart, it's likely not grounded. Nothing wrong with running an additional ground wire from the phono stage to the ground on the amp....

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
Rothwell Rialto mm/mc Phono Stage bought new.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 12:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9360
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
Are you certain you have the correct dip switch settings for your cart, should be re-checked? Also it was unclear, did you actually run an additional ground wire from the pre to the amp? As someone else said, make sure you have good contacts. And also as someone suggested make sure you are away from another transformer that could be picked up, even some high intensity lamps have a trsnfo in the base that will buzz your pre....

CAM member Sarchi reviewed this unit a couple years ago. Aside from going back to the dealer with the problem next week, try reaching out to him, he may have ideas....

http://wallofsound.ca/audioreviews/revi ... ono-stage/

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
Yes I will continue to experiment as mentioned by David, and switch cables as mentioned by Sasquatch.
I did have the correct setting to mm from the start.
The power comes from a wall wart.
The added ground wire connected from phono stage to the amp did not help.
By-passing the phono stage and connect the turntable ground direct to the amp did not help.

Something unknown to me, the amplifier has a "floating" design, and does this in any way have any effect and is the problem related to this? The amplifier is a Yamaha A-S1100, it does not make use of the ground. The back of the amp has two prongs to the power cable no third ground.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 12:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9360
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
Web images show a UK grounded plug. Is this plug grounded. What is it plugged into, power bar or wall receptacle? Are there any other wall warts plugged in alongside it? Have you tried a different input on the Yamaha?

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 1:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:26 pm
Posts: 217
Location: Woodbridge, ON, CA
Hi Che,
The amp is exactly as shown. The owners Manual.
The back panel of the amplifier has two prongs, power, no ground.
Everything is plugged to a power bar ,
Tv, tv box Rogers, CD player, amplifier, phono stage wall wart, and turntable wall wart.
The Rothwell Rialto did allow a further space between components.


Attachments:
image.png
image.png [ 130.31 KiB | Viewed 754 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I'm Slightly buzzed
PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2018 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:41 am
Posts: 9360
Location: Burlington, ON, CA
I was referring to the phono wall wart plug. Have you tried the tuner or cd input instead of Line 1 on the amp?, and you did swap out the IC? See if you can get the wall wart off the power bar and even onto a different circuit.

_________________
"There's no place like Space...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group