Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2018 6:14 am 

Hi i desided to bulid 9.4.2 H T system. Now i only have 5.1 setup but looking to expend. The problem is I'm still new at this.I got the receiver,speakers /subs. I'm looking for amp. I decided to go with Emotiva.I just don't know which one is best for my setup? 3ch, 5ch or 7ch or should i power all 9.4.2 speakers and get 2 amps? Any suggestion will be much appreciated
Thanks guys

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2018 8:10 am 

Hi
The best amps made by Emotiva are their reference XPR line .The XPR-1 monoblocks ,the XPR-2 and XPR-5. Unfortunately they have been discontinued (largely because of cost to manufacture vs profits made and also shipping costs due to weight)
If you can find the XPR-5 ,that was specifically made for home theater use,that would be a solid amp to build your set up.
George

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 9:43 am 

Hi Robert,
I would stick with stereo amplifiers if I were you. Heat is the #1 killer of amplifiers and having too many channels in a space concentrates all the heat. 5 channel amplifiers tend to have heat sinks that are too small, as well as small power transformers. You need to keep the temperatures down. That also means that you need 5" ~ 8" clear air space above a hard working amplifier with a shelf so that the upper devices get cool airflow instead of pre-heated air from an amplifier.

Common sense will always point the way to the truth. Any reason why you are so stuck on Emotiva? I don't know anything about them, so I'm not knocking your choice at all. I'm just curious as to why you are so fixed on the brand.

-Chris

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2018 11:22 am 

Hi Chris
Im not stuck on Emotiva.I watched some youtube videos seemed to me like its the brand to go with. But if you have any other brand suggestions, feel free to share your opinion.THX