Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:33 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:46 pm 

I bought a headphone amp from a member on here claiming it to be brand new, impulse purchase blah blah. Anyways it's the Massdrop Cavalli Tube Hybrid amp and after inserting the tube, powering it on, connecting my 3.5mm-RCA cable to both my PC and my phone, there is no audio coming through my AKG 712 Pros. The headphones work fine with any other source at my disposal. Not the issue.

My phone audio port works. The 3.5-RCA cable works from both my PC and my Phone into my home stereo setup.

I've never used a tube amp before but the unit has it's proper functioning LED on while powered on, and the tube gets warm but there's no sort of glow coming off it, and when I power it off, there is a sharp sound that comes through the headphones, but no audio is being passed through the unit from the input to the output.

I opted for this amp because, forgive my ignorance, but my PC headphone output is already a DAC, my phone headphone output is already a DAC, so I didn't buy a separate DAC, since the digital to analogue is already being converted, is it not? I feel like I'm taking crazy pills because the seller is telling me that it won't work unless I have a separate USB DAC feeding into it...

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:27 pm 
Premium User

Turn the amp off and remove the tube. Make sure you insert it to match the pin pattern on the tube and socket. Then turn it on and try again.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:05 am 

It seems like your amp is just that ... a headphone amp. I don't see any digital inputs just a pair of RCA inputs, so a DAC is required.

Collecting vintage tube Pilot (Pilotone) HiFi gear.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:23 am 

Tom_r wrote: