Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:31 am 

...hey...what do I know...I'm a novice at listening to music from my computer...but...last week after going direct from Laptop to my DAC for the first time, and being happy more about the success of the experience in terms of simply getting the music through and out of my best stereo system...a fellow cam'r afforded me the opportunity of plugging into the chain a Peachtree Audio T1 https://www.peachtreeaudio.com/t1-usb-s ... erter.html ...it essentially upgrades the signal from the computer USB before feeding it to your DAC...I loved what I heard...actually I was blown away...the sound of streaming music through the T1 enhanced the output quality BIGLY ( :) )...coincidently...yesterday this popped up here http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/ ... brand-new/ ...essentially it does something similar to the T1 but also removes the power signal from the USB/Laptop via filter and runs off a 7.5 volt plug-in...having received the 3R early this morning (sometimes Canada Post stuns me...in a good way)...I set it up and was ...GOBSMACKED! ...though the Peachtree T1 was a huge improvement...the IDEON 3R helps deliver better imaging and detail...and perceptibly less background or "floor" noise (due to separate power source?)...no point here really...other than an expression of happiness...and a recognition of CAM as a great place with great people (for the most part)... thanks to mpublicover for the loan and the education...thanks also to Noteworthy Audio for an excellent transaction...

Cheers!

David

TAS review of the IDEON 3R http://www.theabsolutesound.com/article ... e-usb-hub/

Last edited by Stone on Fri Mar 23, 2018 3:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:37 pm 

good to hear that it has turned out well.
have you tried other sources besides the sat radio?