Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:51 pm 

I have spent weeks learning about crossovers and trying various programs to design one. Here is what I came up with,

Does it look any good?

Thank you,

David.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:10 pm 

I'll bite but I'm no expert.
Congrats and welcome.
I haven't spent much time with XSim.
Did you measure the FRDs or copy/paste?
BSC and combined inductance looks about right for typical cabinet width.

Just a suggestion: I would combine the .5 and the 1.0 inductors to a 1.5. The "baffle block" doesn't affect the tweeter significantly.

The phase/summing seems off. Often on a flat baffle (I assume), the crossover needs to be asymmetric to match phase. (for example: 2nd order LP, 3rd order HP) and probably one out of polarity. Neither of those drivers have any requirement for such steep 4th order filters and I always try to start conservatively with as few components as possible.

Neat trick on the software is to invert polarity of the tweeter and see the reverse null. You can estimate the horizontal offsets of each driver by the depth to cone/dome meets the voice coil but that can also be measured and calculated.

The tweeter's rise and dip between 3K and 5K will probably be noticeable. Too high for the RS180s to raise the crossover point but you can use a series notch filter (cap/resistor/coil) on the HP. Should be workable if that's an 8 ohm tweeter.

Try exchanging the values for C1 and C2.

You'll get more assistance from Parts Express' TechTalk as long as you're humble over there.

edit: when I said horizontal offset, i should have said, z-offset.

Last edited by ngjockey on Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 9:06 pm 

Here is another stab at it, I changed the drivers to bring the cost down 60% in case this whole experiment is a bust.