Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:24 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2018 2:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:44 pm
Posts: 684
Location: Crystal Beach, ON, CA
Hi all...

An odd discrepancy I found when searching. Unless I'm missing something.

Using Advanced Search - "Denon" in Turntables.
- returns 10 results - none of which are;
http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/ ... -semiauto/
http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/ ... turntable/

Oddly - when I just enter 'Denon' in the search window on the main page (Not advanced) - these two pop up.

What am I doing wrong?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 6:18 pm 
Online
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:03 pm
Posts: 1332
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
I think it has to do with there being two "Turntables" categories.

This vs This

We might have to force the selection of the subcategory below the top level "Turntables" category


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:44 pm
Posts: 684
Location: Crystal Beach, ON, CA
Good catch. I didn't notice that there were two.

In hindsight, I would have thought to put all the 'sub-categories' under Analogue.

But.... whatever works. (Threw me for a bit) :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:24 am 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:33 am
Posts: 1852
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
how about making the search function clickable in each individual attribute of the desired search?

Right now, I can only choose one. No combinations.

All I'm trying to do in a search, is to eliminate the fishing expedition that is 'wanted'...and retain one or more or all of the other search parameters.

But I specifically do not want any 'wanted' adverts to show up. To just make all wanted adverts go away, in a given search.

That would be a good thing.

I have a feeling it is a big deal for many other people, as well.

Right now I have to slog through the search system in a convoluted manner, when trying to get rid of wanted advents, or I have to put up with them interfering and getting in the way of all searches.

I'm thinking the best way for the current software to do so, is to add a parameter from the drop down menu, that eliminates the wanted adverts in a search. Where you guys write the execution code, but the parameter appears via the drop down menu.

Probably far far easier to do than trying to cobble together functional and working/tested code for a clickable attribute menu set up for search parameters.

_________________
(Ken Hotte, of) Teo Audio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:04 pm 
Online
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:03 pm
Posts: 1332
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
Teo Audio: we just made a tweak today. From desktop, if you are using Advanced Search, change the Type to "ALL SALE ADS" to exclude WANTED ads.

If doing regular search, there's now a "exclude wanted ads" checkbox.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 4:30 pm 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:33 am
Posts: 1852
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
admin wrote:
Teo Audio: we just made a tweak today. From desktop, if you are using Advanced Search, change the Type to "ALL SALE ADS" to exclude WANTED ads.

If doing regular search, there's now a "exclude wanted ads" checkbox.


Super Green!

whoops.

Ok. As soon as I click on the exclude wanted adverts, it goes blank and returns a null search....

eg, all preamps, no wanted adverts.

380 adverts, and over 80 of them are wanted adverts...

ie, 25% wanted adverts. The audio nervosa levels are running pretty high....

_________________
(Ken Hotte, of) Teo Audio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 10:51 am 
Online
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:03 pm
Posts: 1332
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
Ok I see what's going on. The Search functionality was never designed to filter without a keyword, we've done some changes here and it should work as you expect now.

You can now also go to the Preamp category itself and filter by ALL SALE ADS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:58 am
Posts: 94
Location: Anytown, ON, CA
How do I exclude the City of Cambridge when I search Cambridge ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:01 pm 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:33 am
Posts: 1852
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
doctortube wrote:
How do I exclude the City of Cambridge when I search Cambridge ?



I dunno. A box of matches, and then wait a few months for the zombie ads to disappear?

_________________
(Ken Hotte, of) Teo Audio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group