Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:30 pm 

Hi all, i'm new to Canuck Audio Mart; and rather new to the world of HI-FI and my interest has grown exponentially in the past 3 years since the purchase of my turntable and therein got to record hunting. Lately I haven't been quite satisfied with the sound of my table/setup; was looking to upgrade. NOW; here's the challenge; I'm looking for a pretty great sounding setup; all under 700$.
To put in perspective, here's my current setup;
Technics SL-Q2 table purchased circa-2015 at a pawnshop, recently replaced the cartridge on it this year for an Ortofon 2M Red.
Pyle PP444 Phono Pre-amp (cheap-o but was the first/only one I found immediately after purchasing table)
all of this hooked to a pair of Kanto Yumi (powered bookshelf's).

Now; I was looking at second hand stereo gear and told myself a superior setup could very well be done for under 700? Maybe I'm wrong.
#Powered Bookshelf setup preferably; as I don't have much space!
I was looking at Rega RP1; Planar 1-2 tables (used of course) or Project Debut Carbon's
Stick to my ortofon 2m red?
Phono Preamp the Schiit Mani looked pretty sweet
for speakers I'd have no clue; could maybe stick with mine I'm rather happy with them, but again; I feel like the sound is lacking.
Really just looking for a warmer; fuller sound. Any guidance would be very appreciated!
Thanks guys

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:39 pm 

I'd say change the phono pre-amp first, the. See how you like the sound. The schitt has a good reputation, or you might look at something like the cambridge.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 3:47 pm