Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:25 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:25 am 

Hi,

I am new to this forum. I am an electrical engineer, who is supposed to know these things but last time I dealt with anything under 1000V was soe 25 years ago :) So, take me as a newbie hobbyst.

I recently purchased a CA 1010 through CAM. The unit overall seems to work fine, sound is good but has one minor issue. I am hoping someone can help me with my questions below:

1-When I switch on the unit, main relay picks up within seconds, and everything works. After a certain time, say about 30 seconds, another relay drops (or picks up - not sure) and output is gone (no sound, no hissing, meters show 0). After about 1 min or so, the relay which picked up (or dropped) reverses, and back to business. I observed that the main relay picks up at the start up and stays on during this event; so it is some other relay operating. I can hear the click. There is a relay on the function board, which seems to be what is operating (or not operating) temporarily. Any idea as to what might be the reason?

2-I see that right channel is tiny bit lower than the left channel. It is same when I reverse the channels by switch (reverse stereo). Any suggestions?

3-This one is more philosophical :) I think the caps are original. There is a tiny bit of degredation (bottoms are slightly leaking) at the base of electrolytic caps (not the power unit large caps, others on the main CB and function CB). Do you recommend these to be changed? According to a professional, it aint broke, why fix it? He said they would go for another 10 yrs :) Any suggestions? Would a possible failure cost me my speakers?

Thanks in advance for all your answers.

Gokhan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:38 am 

What "professional" would recommend not replacing leaky caps?
:shock:

Cerwin Vega E712
Paradigm Mini Monitors