Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 6:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 586
Location: winnipeg, MB, CA
Just wondering if anyone else has had problems with the power switches. I had a power switch snap on me about two years ago. Older amps and I expect things to wear out. Ordered two new switches, one for each amp. Fast forward two years and now I have had another one snap. Anyone else have a problem, and is there a better company to get switches?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 4330
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
I have a Classe' Ten (not in use at the moment) but no issues at all with the power switch.
I rarely turn things off so it got minimal use.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 12:17 pm
Posts: 198
Location: BURNABY, BC, CA
Both my dr9 had issues replaced both .now switch still works but light doesn't come on cant be bother to replace


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:38 am
Posts: 98
Location: Mono, ON, CA
No issues with dr-3 or dr-3vhc power switch and have had them in the family since new


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 586
Location: winnipeg, MB, CA
lightning wrote:
Both my dr9 had issues replaced both .now switch still works but light doesn't come on cant be bother to replace


I am really hoping this premature failure is a one off and not a reoccurring flaw.

Oh, and you think I can find that old working switch that I removed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:17 pm 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:33 am
Posts: 1925
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
If you speak of the big black flip switches (no light)...they are fairly common. The big deal is that flipping them hard and fast does put mechanical stress on them. The switches themselves are fairly common. I'm looking at the guts of them via images and it appears to be a two pole switch, 15A 125VAC rated. Are you flipping them hard and fast, to try and cut down on potentials for arching?

Replacements are common and of good manufacture...as this type of switch is generally used to lift both line and neutral from the circuit for industrial-pro-commerical gear of various design and type. Motorized gear, for example.

_________________
(Ken Hotte, of) Teo Audio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:48 am
Posts: 13
Location: north vancouver, BC, CA
e_biz80 wrote:
No issues with dr-3 or dr-3vhc power switch and have had them in the family since new


Agree - I run three of the VHCs and the switches have always functioned perfectly. Maybe the newer models switched to an alternate design that experiences material embrittlement with age?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:43 pm
Posts: 711
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
Solstice wrote:
I run three of the VHCs and the switches have always functioned perfectly.


Three VHC's? Your music room is going to be nice a toasty in the winter! :D Not sure I want to see your AC bill in the summer! :(
Probably sounds great though....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:48 am
Posts: 13
Location: north vancouver, BC, CA
Yeah, running in Class A they make pretty good room heaters. One system isn't too bad - one of them run in stereo, but the other pair are bridged and run a quad amped (4 monoblocs) system that gets very toasty and doesn't tend to get as much use in summer.

I forget the power draw at idle - something like 800 watts a piece - they actually put out a bit less heat when converting some of that to sound. Sure sound great though.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 586
Location: winnipeg, MB, CA
They are the DR-8 switches with the built in light. They really are a poor design. If I could find something better to replace them with I would. On the first one the metal connector inside snapped from years of use. This one has folded over so the amp is stuck on all the time. Hoping if I order another one I won't have the same problem.
As a side note, love the amps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 4:50 pm
Posts: 263
Location: calgary, AB, CA
have 2 dr-8's. right now one has a light burnt out, and I have had the other one repaired years ago.
a couple years ago, the switch on one wouldn't work for about a week, then started working again on its own. I've learned to live with this because I like the sound of them, but it's a pain


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 11:47 am
Posts: 4029
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
Canadiansnowland wrote:
Just wondering if anyone else has had problems with the power switches. I had a power switch snap on me about two years ago. Older amps and I expect things to wear out. Ordered two new switches, one for each amp. Fast forward two years and now I have had another one snap. Anyone else have a problem, and is there a better company to get switches?

Thanks


Its a good practice to connect an AC rated cap across the "hot" (black wire)

on the switch. This helps to prevent the contacts from arcing when switched on.

Check to see if Classe has a cap connected to the power switch.

It must be a cap rated for AC use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 733
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
A pic of the switch with MFG and part# would help.
See if we can do a cross reference.

Gary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:32 pm
Posts: 586
Location: winnipeg, MB, CA
photos


Attachments:
WIN_20171211_08_28_23_Pro.jpg
WIN_20171211_08_28_23_Pro.jpg [ 204.21 KiB | Viewed 1000 times ]
WIN_20171211_08_28_16_Pro.jpg
WIN_20171211_08_28_16_Pro.jpg [ 209.47 KiB | Viewed 1000 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 733
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Carling was gonna be my first suggestion.

Gary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group