Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:44 am 

Looking to upgrade another piece of my setup. Currently have Kenwood KR-A47 , Music Hall mmf-5.1 , Music Hall PA2.2, Tannoy Mercury 7.4 with QED cable.

I have been looking at various Integrated Tube amps - Audio-Space, Musical Paradise, Yaqin, Jolida. Also was sort of looking into Peachtree Novas.

Just looking for some opinions or maybe some other options out there. I'm new to vacuum tubes, but having heard a small audio-space amp this past weekend they have piqued my interest.

Thanks,
Dean

Tannoy Mercury 7.4

Last edited by DeanerF on Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:48 am 

What power tube strikes yer interest?

One reason why I keep hanging on to my primaluna is it's ability to handle the majority of the 6L6 family.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:55 am 

BinkyTheCat wrote:
What power tube strikes yer interest?

One reason why I keep hanging on to my primaluna is it's ability to handle the majority of the 6L6 family.

I'm not too sure actually. Seems like most have either the EL34 or KT88? Just reading quickly on the 6L6 they sound like a pretty good option too.

Maybe I need to test listen a few different options

Tannoy Mercury 7.4

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:08 am 

I use a Cary SLI-80 in my secondary system for a number of years. Well built, switchable from 40w Triode to 80W Ultra-linerar, can use the following output tubes KT150, KT120, KT88, 6550, EL34, 6CA7, 6L6, KT66, KT77, 6V6, KT90. A tube roller's dream. The design has withstood the test of time and has decent re-sale value. Highly recommended.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:32 am 

Primaluna should definitely be on your list. The Prologue 1 I had was my favorite integrated
Peachtree presents little, if any, likeness to a full tube integrated - owned 3