Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:42 pm 

Hi all,

I just picked up a Rega Planar 2 with an R200 tonearm, and as I was setting it up/fiddling around I think I busted the anti-skate mechanism. I gather this happens fairly often with these older tables, and I looked up the fix but it looks pretty complex. I'm new to all of this, and while I'm up for putting in a little bit of work, I don't want to mess anything else up while I'm at it. Any thoughts on how I should proceed?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:53 pm 

Just play without antiskating.

I think it's pretty common with VPI unipivot tonearms, people opt not to use antiskating.

After a couple thousand hours play your stylus will show greater wear on one side than the other. This as a result of a tonearm being subject to a slight acceleration toward the centre of the record from the mass and angle of the cartridge tracking the disc.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:54 pm 

You might get lucky and the belt broke with the anti-skating already set in the right position. Try it as it is. You never know.

If you can use one of those newfangled Internets, you can post photos in your damn classified ads. :roll:

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:12 pm 

OK, thanks. A bit of a drag to break something basically the first time I touched it, but oh well! I suppose this is a realistic entry into a world that seems to involve a fair bit of fiddling and fixing :)

Is there any way for me to know what number the anti-skate was set at when it broke?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:22 pm 

back off the weight till the arm raises, the arm will either move inwards or outwards, If it stays still its set properly.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:26 pm 

A zero-balanced arm will be pulled gently away from the spindle, to compensate for the inward pull of the grooves on the stylus.