Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:54 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:57 am
Posts: 8
Location: ottawa
I have a legacy preprocessor bryston sp1.7 and like to know how to feed it 5.1 digital audio (PCM or Dolby Digital only as no other formats supported) via coax or spdif. Source is netflix that is DD+ so is there a device that can convert DD+ to DD? Device needs to accept HDMI as input and output 5.1 digital audio via coax or spdif. It should also output hdmi for video in my case.

Thanx,tom.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 12:02 pm
Posts: 177
Location: Ottawa, ON, CA
bryfan wrote:
I have a legacy preprocessor bryston sp1.7 and like to know how to feed it 5.1 digital audio (PCM or Dolby Digital only as no other formats supported) via coax or spdif. Source is netflix that is DD+ so is there a device that can convert DD+ to DD? Device needs to accept HDMI as input and output 5.1 digital audio via coax or spdif. It should also output hdmi for video in my case.

Thanx,tom.


This might do the trick: Blackbird 4K Series 7.1 HDMI Audio Extractor

https://www.123inkcartridges.ca/p-35309 ... -extractor
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=13348
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.a ... 9HT43P6440

Just a guess though ...

Having been in this boat though ... I eventually just got a newer mid market HDMI receiver that had pre-outs ... was cheaper and easier than buying a new pre-pro.

Good luck. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 9:11 pm
Posts: 47
Location: Saskatoon, SK, CA
You simply need a dolby 2-channel source or pcm stereo source to your Bryston SP 1.7. Using the digital mode on the SP will convert the source signal to the soundfield you choose to use, in your case Dolby 5.1 but you can also use Neo (dts), multi-channel stereo, etc..

I have Netflix from computer out to an outboard dac, dac to SP2 for 4 channel stereo. I also have Netflix on Smart TV but just use the speakers on the TV.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group