Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 12:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:21 pm 

Hi All,

I've been buying and selling used high-end gear for about 20 years now. Back in the '80s I sold hifi out of a couple retail shops. Those were the days; high margins when the high end was SAE, Phase Linear, McIntosh, JBL, Klipsh, ESS... ahhhhh...

Well, here are a couple recent transactions that have me scratching my head. First, I was looking for a couple albums, Nautilus Superdiscs, and found a couple online at various prices. One of the people selling was an individual on A-gon, the other, a dealer on Amazon. The dealer's prices were significantly lower for what seemed to be the same quality used albums. I asked the a-gon person if he was willing to match prices, as I like supporting the used market. He said that I was asking for a price that "was 35% below market", and he accused me of low-balling. I replied, "How am I lowballing when the identical item is listed for a lower price, online, by a reputable dealer?" (That's a rhetorical question.)

Here's the point. I'm sure we've all "watched" gear being sold online to see what the market will be for that item. Items will sit for months, even years, at their asking price -- on ebay, agon, USAM, CL. Listings that say, "Make an offer" won't be responded to. Owners just seem to over-value their gear and don't seem to be willing to let the market decide what the price is for a piece of gear.

I recently spoke with a dealer who stated, "The high end is dead. I can't sell anything anymore." Bummer for him, as he's a good guy with great gear, but he's trying to sell online for full MSRP. I just don't get why anyone would pay full msrp for gear that's perfectly good when it's a couple years old and is selling for less than half price -- sometimes 30% of msrp.