Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3806
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
It should have been so simple. I noticed today that my anti-virus was about to expire, in one day to be exact.
So I searched around and found an anti-virus, for $12.99.
It was McAfee Anti-Virus Plus. The exact same anti virus that was about to expire.
I fill in the blanks and soon the anti-virus is in my mail box.
I follow the steps, click this, restart that and nothing. It tells me I still only have one day left.
That was about 10:00 this morning.
It's now almost 10:00 PM and I'm no closer to getting the heartless bastard to work.
Worse I don't have a clue where or why it won't work.
So tomorrow, I'm going to take it to a friendly (I hope) neighbourhood computer store, confess my idiocy and get them to install protection.
I was convinced that I could do this. Hell, I've done it before with no problems.
I'm not totally incompetent, I set up a buddy's Fiio and converted a bunch of files to FLAC for him. Not a bother at all.
But a lousy anti-virus program? :evil:
I had thought of of taking a basic computer skills course but I hear they frown on the use of "colourful" language.
Trust me, my language has been VERY colourful today.
As I'm doing this I'm listening to a Linda Ronstadt Anthology . Very relaxing. The urge to beat my laptop to death is slowly fading.
How's your day been? :mrgreen:

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:12 pm 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:44 pm
Posts: 6087
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Did you uninstall the existing program before installing the new program?

_________________
I Put A Spell On You!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 7:30 pm
Posts: 322
Location: Mississauga, ON, CA
McAfee is nasty don't feel bad. Bad experiences with it. It installs like a worm. Very heard to remove. I have witnessed it playing games with performance on a student's laptop until it was renewed. There are better choices!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3806
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
Voodoo Funk wrote:
Did you uninstall the existing program before installing the new program?

Yep.

-- 06 Oct 2017 02:56 --

prism wrote:
McAfee is nasty don't feel bad. Bad experiences with it. It installs like a worm. Very heard to remove. I have witnessed it playing games with performance on a student's laptop until it was renewed. There are better choices!

I was shopping by price. An earlier version was on the computer so I figured it was good enough.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:27 pm 
Online

Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 7:33 am
Posts: 118
Location: Queen Charlotte, BC, CA
I have an HP laptop and an Asus All-in-One, both on Windows 7, and also an older, cable connected, Sony EReader. I use Norton for security in both computers and 2 different tune up programs. Any time I connected the EReader to the HP laptop, the laptop would completely crash and it had to be restarted and rebooted. Eventually I could get them to mate up and work, but it was a long, laborious, and uncertain process. The EReader worked fine with the Asus.
The HP laptop had come with McAfee installed. I was not using McAfee and it expired, but it kept sending me messages which I got tired of reading. So eventually I uninstalled the McAfee completely. With McAfee gone, the EReader connects to the HP laptop seamlessly.
Someone, who knows more about software than I do, might be able to explain this.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm
Posts: 271
Location: Regina, SK, CA
A corporate computer tech once told me mcAffee is the biggest virus in a computer when loaded.
There are better, and everyone has their favorite.
TrendMicro and Malwarebytes come to mind.
Sorry to hear it became an issue.... I have come to dislike computers a lot for the maintenance....

_________________
Vintage has a place.....mostly in my basement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 1221
Location: Guelph, ON, CA
Search Youtube for instructions?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:19 pm
Posts: 853
Location: Whitby, ON, CA
Sounds like a glitch with crediting your account with an extra year of protection. Usually you need to enter a code that you get when you pay to have the software recognize that you purchased this. If that didn't work then personally I would try to resolve the matter with their customer service via chat or on their forum.

I find Norton tends to work well and when it doesn't their forum is very helpful in finding a solution.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:41 am
Posts: 3806
Location: Ingersoll, ON, CA
Sasklite wrote:
A corporate computer tech once told me mcAffee is the biggest virus in a computer when loaded.
There are better, and everyone has their favorite.
TrendMicro and Malwarebytes come to mind.
Sorry to hear it became an issue.... I have come to dislike computers a lot for the maintenance....

Word. Eventually I found a free one that seems to work ok. Avira.
And getting rid of McAffee was a major pain in the keister.

-- 06 Oct 2017 05:33 --

14 Years wrote:
Sounds like a glitch with crediting your account with an extra year of protection. Usually you need to enter a code that you get when you pay to have the software recognize that you purchased this. If that didn't work then personally I would try to resolve the matter with their customer service via chat or on their forum.

I find Norton tends to work well and when it doesn't their forum is very helpful in finding a solution.

I've had enough. Thankfully I didn't spend a lot on this. I found their site to be confusing and irritating.

_________________
He who is like the wind blowing from your pants.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 3:45 pm
Posts: 787
Location: Rockwood, ON, CA
Avast, AVG, Windows Defender, lots of free anti virus software available for basic protection. Love that term Computer Glitch. It’s a politician and journalist’s tool to try and blame a computer for a human screw up.

_________________
Decware SE84UFO2... Chord 2Qute... Omega SAM's... TEO GC Liquid Cables... Audiosector Integrated... Auralic Aries Femto... Sonore Microrendu... Equi-Core 1200 Power Conditioner... MCRU LPS... Audioquest Dragonfly Red... Zavfino1877 power cord.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:27 am
Posts: 233
Location: malagash, NS, CA
McAffee is bad news! I had it once and when it literally killed my pc connection [along with many others at the time], they acted like it was our fault. Very bad experience with them and they wanted me to come back when I had it removed. It is very hard to remove. I do run fixmestick once a month. cheers, lloyd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:27 am
Posts: 233
Location: malagash, NS, CA
:D I also run AVG and like it. :) cheers, lloyd


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 4:50 pm
Posts: 1067
Location: Moncton, New Brunswick, NB, CA
McAffee was problematic for me...(to say the least.)

In two years, I had to contact them, FIVE TIMES, and turn complete control of my 'puter over to one of their techs for debugging.

Switched to Norton a few years ago, and nary a problem since.

Caveat emptor.

del Sol


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 4:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 11:39 am
Posts: 74
Location: Oakville, ON, CA
The big names in the AV market are a f'ing pox. McAffee and Norton are both terrible platforms. Describing them themselves as a virus is entirely accurate. McAffee is the worst, but personally I think both stink.

Run, don't walk to any of the other good suggestions.

Deep


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 5:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:07 am
Posts: 100
Location: Repentigny, QC, CA
Free version - no codes! - of the AVAST software works well for me, 5 yrs and counting.

But, your issue does sound like a server (theirs) or code (yours) screw-up.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group