Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:58 am 

I've been using my MacMini for a few years now and like the versatility as a music server attached to the TV via HDMI and via USB to my Tube Amp with integrated DAC. I use iTunes with Amarra Symphony and enjoy that simple setup for either watching Netflix, browse or listen to Spotify or my high res music library.

Having a simple setup with only a few components/connections looks clean and but wonder if I am limiting myself with the MacMini as a music source in comparison to a HIFI music server like a Naim Uniti or MOON Ace or similar. With a unit like the Naim or Moon I would just need a pair of decent speakers and I'm good to go. I definitely want to upgrade my system, most likely getting away from tubes and replace the book shelf speakers on stands with a slightly bigger floor stander.

Any advantage using a music streamer with active speakers over an all in one unit and passive speakers? Would love to hear some opinions and recommendations. Budget wise I would like to stay at around 8k for smaller floor standing speakers and an all-in-one unit.

Thanks a lot,
Martin

Last edited by flyheli on Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:14 pm 

I asked a similar question a few years ago and borrowed a few streamers from a dealer. I trialed the Bluesound Node, Project Streambox RS and a Moon Mind unit. I didn't detect a difference using any of those and found I preferred control through my MacBook pro over the iPad apps; so I don't purchase any of them.
I have also had a Naim Uniqute 2 and currently own an Oppo Sonic dac that streams. Tried streaming function with both but abandoned it in favour of the Mac. i just prefer using the Mac but then my set up is conveniently placed for it.