Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 7:32 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:52 am 

I have a Tidal Hi-Fi subscription and have been enjoying partial decoded MQA streaming with A+ software player on my Mac. I like what I have heard so far and I am itching to get a MQA capable DAC (with native DSD decoding).

However, I have my doubts with MQA namely:

There still aren't many MQA sources even on Tidal for the genres that I am interesting in

It is not truly lossless

From what I have perceived it is not really that popular and future support can be wilted if there isn't a demand

Should I go ahead? To be honest as much as I think of the potential & wanted one it feels like I am going to throw money away for another Meridian proprietary format. Or just pick a good DSD capable DAC from sellers here?

(Or get a new tonearm instead? :lol: )

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:03 am 

I have my doubts with MQA and think it's overhyped. Fortunately my DAC includes mqa support via a free update but I wouldn't think twice of going out to get one specifically for mqa.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:49 am 

its not clear to me what the advantage of MQA is. I suspect it just another attempt to hamstring consumers to a specific format. DSD is even worse. This savy audiophile is sticking to open source formats like FLAC and Ogg Vorbis.

Audiophiles and music lovers should try to embrace open source software instead of being milked by special interests. Be cool and Be smart.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:05 am 

DSD I can at least appreciate the format when recorded to analog tape initially (see Blue Coast Records).

MQA just seems like a way to steal money. If the masters aren't quality it isn't like MQA is going to make it better. Much like converting to DSD from a FLAC file, what's the point.