It is currently Wed Apr 26, 2017 11:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: The Revenge of Analog
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:55 pm 
Dealer/Sponsor

Hipsters line up here.

http://video.foxnews.com/v/5325610324001/?#sp=show-clips

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 2:26 pm 

Never left the non-digital technology, been at it since the early 70s... with the required turntables upgrades...

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:45 pm 

New tech: !!!

http://startouch.thestar.com/screens/81 ... %7C_0.html

I gotta say, I have been eschewing new vinyl for a couple years now, just thought there was some dubious QC, and no value in the price spread between CD and Vinyl. Recently ordered Nora Jones Day Breaks on hefty orange vinyl (amazon $25 with a D/L card), Blue Note.. Wow, it is really jaw dropping. Of course, you've got a really discerning artist, and very chill bluesy jazz so you'd expect a good recording, but the SQ is amazing and the vinyl is dead silent, not a wisp of any noise.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:14 pm 

Not sure what to make of this. On my main set-up, I spin LP's and have for about 50 years; they sound great and to my ears (mind?) sound better than my digital set-up. I also read books, but when I want to look something up, I go digital and use a computer. Why? Because it's convenient.
When I'm out in my studio, creating analog paintings, I listen to music on a (comparatively) cheap digital set-up. Why? Because it's convenient. When you're in the flow of painting you don't really want to stop and flip the record. Besides, I've got a few hundred CD's and the only time they get air-time is when I'm in the studio.
In the end, I suspect convenience will win out, no matter what the medium. Old die-hards like myself and other on this site will keep the analog flame alive but I doubt the Millennials will go to the wall and keep buying LP's once they get married and start having kids.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 4:31 pm