Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:53 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Boutique Amps Under 500?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:15 pm 

Hi All,

I've been slowly upgrading my equipment and I think an integrated amplifier might be next in line :D My equipment is as follows.... Pro Ject Debut Carbon (Acrylic platter, 2M blue stylus.... not sure if this info matters but thought I'd throw it in), NAD 314 Integrated amp, PSB Century 800i floor speakers. I obviously want to get the most out of my system and would like to try an upgrade on the amp side of things. I'm new to this hobby so I don't know much about pre-amps and power amps and how to pair them so I was thinking I'd stick to a more straight forward connection with the integrated.

I'm not looking for something vintage, 2000's and up. Brands I've been looking at include Denon, Rotel, Marantz, NAD and so on....typical brands you see often

I've also seen brands like Bryston, Audiolab, Musical Fidelity, Creek and so forth....

So I come to you folks who have a wealth of knowledge to guide me in the right direction :P

Any suggestion on what I should be looking at? Are there any boutique or small companies that make nice amplifiers in the sub 500 price range?

Cheers!!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:03 pm 

Rega Mira integrated amplifier with MM phono. Includes Solar remote. (This integrated came on line in 2000. and now discontinued)
Item #649331874 Available at Audio EdenLTD

Rega Brio R ( The one from 2011 to 2016)

If you up your budget, the new for 2017, Rega Brio

All have an MM phono board included.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:27 pm 
Premium User

Boutique products tend to be pricey. A company has to have a certain volume and scale before they can build something at lower price point. I would stick to more tried and true audiophile brands at this point.