Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:28 am 

Ok I'm going to show my age for sure but I happened to be going through one of my old photo albums and I have kept my concert stubs since the 70s when I first started to see shows. I just happened to notice the prices.
$4.09 to see Buddy Rich (I am a drummer)
$6.00 for Supertramp Crime of the Century as well as Frank Zappa and the Mothers

I could go on but then it would just sound like bragging 8)

Maybe I'm biased (maybe?) but it seems not only did we get some of the greatest bands that are still being listened to in our era, but we also had some damn fine concert pricing, and I could still actually get a ticket because you had to go and line up for them in person and they weren't sold out to scalpers online in 180 seconds!

Attachments:
DSC_03210001.JPG
DSC_03210001.JPG [ 175.48 KiB | Viewed 2279 times ]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:33 am 

And Woodstock,a whopping $6.00,or was it $6.50.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 7:51 am 
Premium User

Someone gave me a ticket to see Roger Waters at the ACC 3 or 4 years ago-The ticket price was $505.00.I saw the whole band (Floyd) for around $10.00 in the 70's. Somehow these prices don't jive. I wait for the Blu-rays now.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:09 am 

Close to the Edge wrote:
Someone gave me a ticket to see Roger Waters at the ACC 3 or 4 years ago-The ticket price was $505.00.I saw the whole band (Floyd) for around $10.00 in the 70's. Somehow these prices don't jive. I wait for the Blu-rays now.

I agree, unless I can get seats close enough to actually see the band, me too. Sitting at the back of a sports stadium watching a concert on the screen because the musicians are too small to see, is not really a concert in my opinion.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:17 am