Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:42 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 4:40 pm 

I have no experience with tubes,but have been thinking about running tube amps for my top end and using my SS monos for my bottom end. Have you tried this? Or is this a bad idea? Cheers

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:15 pm 

Others may correct me, but I believe that this is a bad idea UNLESS you can match the gain of the two amps. Instead, you could try a tubed CD player, a tubed phono stage, and/or a tubed pre amp. Some companies also produce tube-buffers that can be inserted between components.

Cheers,
Loyd

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:42 pm 

To match the gain Could this be done with a multi meter? then adjust the attenuators on the back of my SS amps accordingly? Or would the tube amps have too much gain to match them?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 5:54 pm 

I run a biamped rig. They have to built specifically for this as you can easilly screw things up time wise. If I as much as screw with the way my amps are plugged into the wall the sound stage disapears, change an interconnect and things can get real ugly. I wouldn't bother with what you are thinking.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:41 pm 

Thanks for your input guys . Tube pre hunting I will go

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 11:47 am