Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 8:14 am 

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie when it comes to high end audio and I'm wondering if you could help me find a good *value* tube preamp / SS or Tube Amp to upgrade my Mcintosh MA6200.

Here is the system
DAC: Chord Mojo from 2009 IMac (through USB)
Vinyl: Rega RP-1 w/ Performance Pack
Pre/Amp: Mcintosh MA6200 integrated
Speakers: Dynaudio Excite 16
IEM: Shure SE215
12 gauge unfinished speaker wire

I don't need more volume so to speak. I really like detail, but overall emotion is what I'm going for here. 95% of my listening will be redbook cds, with 5% vinyl thrown in. If hi-res ever comes down in price, it would be nice to have something I can grow into. It isn't that my system is lacking in an obvious way, but I'm thinking about building out a second system and would like to try something new.

I'm hoping to go used, so I can find equipment that holds its value or even appreciate (like my MA6200 has). To this end (resale), I'm also hoping to stay with strong brand recognition (Mcintosh, Bryston, ARC, etc) unless there is something really amazing from a boutique shop I should consider.

My budget is $3000 tops, but much less would be preferred. I don't want to go overkill on my amp when the rest of my system is mid-fi at best...

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:46 am 

Check into Balanced Audio Technology (BAT) or Modwright, they do both... and there are good prices on used... read, broken in..

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:56 am 

For a good value tube preamp, I have been very pleased with my Blue Circle 21.1 with two vintage Amperex 7308/6922 tubes. It mates well with a SS amp.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:41 am 

How about a pro amp, like the Yamaha PC 4002M? 430W into 8Ω
Pro amps represent great value in 2 channel audio.