Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:06 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:45 pm
Posts: 568
Location: Athabasca, AB, CA
A friend of mine uses a Conrad Jonson which he has had for 4-5 yrs with 28's and it sounded great.
I use a Vac preamp,but it's a tad mo money+ have 28's.
Arc works well with Bryston,Vac and I'm sure quite a few others...OPEN HOUSE..I'd do home auditions as it's YOUR ROOM and It's free if the dealer wants to make a sale.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:08 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Quesnel, BC, CA
One layer of tubes and you won't forget it!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:54 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: NL
Sold my BP 26MC

The 4B3 is a lot different than the square amps

maybe Ayre or Krell


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 6:24 am
Posts: 39
Location: Cambridge, ON, CA
z28-1980--car wrote:
Sold my BP 26MC

The 4B3 is a lot different than the square amps

maybe Ayre or Krell


Please elaborate. I'm considering an sst2 or b3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:54 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: NL
judd wrote:
One layer of tubes and you won't forget it!


Sold my C2300

-- 03 Mar 2017 22:52 --

nutella wrote:
z28-1980--car wrote:
Sold my BP 26MC

The 4B3 is a lot different than the square amps

maybe Ayre or Krell


Please elaborate. I'm considering an sst2 or b3



Have own all bryston amps,,except the 7 and 28

sst good,,,sst2 not so good,,,s3 really nice IMO


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 6:24 am
Posts: 39
Location: Cambridge, ON, CA
z28-1980--car wrote:
judd wrote:
One layer of tubes and you won't forget it!


Sold my C2300

-- 03 Mar 2017 22:52 --

nutella wrote:
z28-1980--car wrote:
Sold my BP 26MC

The 4B3 is a lot different than the square amps

maybe Ayre or Krell


Please elaborate. I'm considering an sst2 or b3



Have own all bryston amps,,except the 7 and 28

sst good,,,sst2 not so good,,,s3 really nice IMO


Most posts I have read have shown an improvement through the line. Interesting. Care to elaborate further?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:36 pm 
Online
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:36 pm
Posts: 3950
Location: Vernon, BC, CA
I'd jump on that Classé CP-700 if you want SS. Even the Sigma-SSP sounded superb with the Cubed series amps. The Levinson preamps I've heard with Bryston were good but they were SST and SST2 amps.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 172
Location: Wet coast
Have you considered Klyne Audio?
http://www.klyne.com/pages/products.html

_________________
E.C wuz here


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 2:33 pm
Posts: 3170
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
drummermitchell wrote:
A friend of mine uses a Conrad Jonson which he has had for 4-5 yrs with 28's and it sounded great.
I use a Vac preamp,but it's a tad mo money+ have 28's.
Arc works well with Bryston,Vac and I'm sure quite a few others...OPEN HOUSE..I'd do home auditions as it's YOUR ROOM and It's free if the dealer wants to make a sale.


About ARC working well with Bryston: I seem to recall that ARC recommends an amplifier input impedance of at least 20 kOhms when using their preamplifiers.

Does this not preclude using the preferred balanced connections with a Bryston power amp?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:22 am
Posts: 2321
Location: Red Deer, AB, CA
z28-1980--car wrote:
Could not sell my 4b3 and lost deal on 7b3
also sold my C2300

Will now keep my 4b3

now wanting a SS pre for the 4b3 must have 1 balance input,,,,budget 5000 used with remote

What are you using????

To be honest you should have kept the C2300…great match over the Brystons I thought.

If you must have SS over the Bryston I would suggest used Mark Levinson.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:54 pm
Posts: 3375
Location: NL
nedrudrelyt wrote:
z28-1980--car wrote:
Could not sell my 4b3 and lost deal on 7b3
also sold my C2300

Will now keep my 4b3

now wanting a SS pre for the 4b3 must have 1 balance input,,,,budget 5000 used with remote

What are you using????

To be honest you should have kept the C2300…great match over the Brystons I thought.

If you must have SS over the Bryston I would suggest used Mark Levinson.


I think that would work well,,,i well see whats out there


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 2:00 am
Posts: 1255
Location: Guelph, ON, CA
The Specrtral that was just listed at Audio Excellence looks like a nice preamp:

http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/ ... -8495-usd/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Pre amp for bryston
PostPosted: Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 6:09 am
Posts: 355
Location: KW, ON, CA
NordicNorm wrote:
Ayre and Bryston pair well together.

There's an Ayre K-1xe on A'gon at the moment (US$4,000):
https://www.audiogon.com/listings/solid-state-ayre-k-1xe-stereo-preamplifier-1546-2017-02-13-preamplifiers-80020-broomfield-co


+1 .......I have heard this preamp on several extended occasions...it is wonderfully cohesive and transparent

-- Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:27 pm --

noway wrote:
The Specrtral that was just listed at Audio Excellence looks like a nice preamp:

http://www.canuckaudiomart.com/details/ ... -8495-usd/





does it need extended bandwidth ICs?, MIT for example


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group