Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Amp hum
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 3:57 pm
Posts: 583
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
Itsnotluck wrote:
I've had hum in every preamp I've had in my set up.I have a low grade hum in both my phono stage and my preamp.Both of the preamps are on the same dedicated line with a MOV surge suppressor.Could the surge protector be causing any thing?Also my amp is on a totally different line connected by a long balanced IC.When I disconnect the balanced cable it has no response on the hum in the preamps...I've had an integrated and a different preamp on the dedicated line and both pieces have gone in to a DC fault shut down...So it appears that DC offset could be a problem.....Anybody have any ideas on how to check for DC offset or how to cure the problem.I've just learned to live with the low grade hum.....



Checking for DC offset by trying your multi-meter in a wall socket while set to "DC" is likely to result in an accident. That surge suppressor will likely just pass along the DC to your gear.

Emotiva CMX-2


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amp hum
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:20 pm
Posts: 350
Location: Delta, BC, CA
Best solution, use that TV as a boat anchor..... I didn't know anyone still owned one of those..LED TV's are ridiculously cheap now.. as for connections, there are adapters for everything...The older TV's also emitted a magnetic pull, slight but there.. just ask a Nak Dragon owner with a Auto Azimuth... ! Possibly the best cassette deck ever made... dating myself now...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amp hum
PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 7:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 11:29 am
Posts: 636
Location: St.Catharines, ON, CA
Itsnotluck wrote:
I've had hum in every preamp I've had in my set up.I have a low grade hum in both my phono stage and my preamp.Both of the preamps are on the same dedicated line with a MOV surge suppressor.Could the surge protector be causing any thing?Also my amp is on a totally different line connected by a long balanced IC.When I disconnect the balanced cable it has no response on the hum in the preamps...I've had an integrated and a different preamp on the dedicated line and both pieces have gone in to a DC fault shut down...So it appears that DC offset could be a problem.....Anybody have any ideas on how to check for DC offset or how to cure the problem.I've just learned to live with the low grade hum.....

Might be a good idea to have a look at that dedicated line from service panel to outlet.Something sounds strange.
Seems anything you plug in has problems.

Gary


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amp hum
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 4:17 am
Posts: 936
Location: Fergus, ON, CA
andym wrote:
Hi Guys,
I just found the culprit.It the cathode ray tube TV that I have seating in the cabinet over the amp.(Please don't laugh :wink: ..I don't watch TV but for the odd video, this old TV does the trick).
The easiest fix would be to move those two apart but not my favorite option right now.Can I use an "insulator" between the TV and the amp? Does this hum, although annoying but not audible from were I seat, affect SQ?
Thanks


BUT the question I have is, did the hum just happen since the placement of the TV or is it something that just started. IF it indeed just started and the TV has been there for a while already then there is another underlying issue at hand here somewhere.
(btw...I like old CRT tube TV's...nice warm pic...and cats like sitting on them...but I digress)

_________________
"People get ready, there's a train a comin'...."


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Amp hum
PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:53 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Surrey, BC, CA
I had a similar issue with my pro audio gear when I was djing and then someone recommended that I plug everything into the same power bar. That fixed it. Masybe give that a try (if you haven't already).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group