Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:58 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Successful Recap
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:59 pm 

Hello All. I've had mixed feelings about recapping my Celestion SL6s. I bought the original spec Alcap capacitors from Falcon Acoustics in the UK about 6 months ago, and they've sat in the drawer since. I had them done yesterday. Upon reconnecting them last night, it was immediately apparent how much of an improvement there was. I've been running these speakers off an on for the past 8 years (more on), and they have returned to the sound that I recall them producing 7-8 years ago. I think the cap drift has slowly been taking place over that period of time. Everything is much better, focus, detail, transparency. I didn't realize fully how much inner detail I had lost. This happens over time, and one reaches a point where you realize that something is just not right. In fact, I was thinking that my amplifier was sounding very flat and overall just "Mehhhh", but it was the speakers all along. They are a bit brighter and livelier too, but not in a bad way at all. This, with only a few hours running, so perhaps they will continue to improve with time. Listening has been with my tuner only, as I am cartridge-less at the moment. In a few days time my Nagaoka MP-30 arrives, so I'm really looking forward to hearing them with good vinyl recordings. In any event, I was a bit anti-capping after a few experiences with amps in the past that did not yield good results, but the difference for the better is readily apparent with the old Celestions. $68 all in, including the caps and labour!

Post subject: Re: Successful Recap
PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:19 pm 

Informative post, I would have never thought of that, thanks.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:54 pm