Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 6:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:04 am 

Good morning all,

I am on a quest to locate a pair of the legendary Tannoy 15" Gold in a complete speaker system. So far, the best examples all appear to be in British Columbia! You Western CAM members can't be faulted for your exquisite taste in speakers. Shipping and Handling of the large enclosures the Tannoy drivers require is what makes a purchase exceedingly high.

Having recently come into a "Sale Pending" situation with my Ohm Walsh 4 speakers, I am reconsidering my decision to purchase the Ohm 5000 Tall from the factory. I have no experience with the Tannoy, having auditioned only one pair of 15" models in a cold Ottawa garage about 10 years ago.

Thoughts and/or experience anyone?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:24 am 

among the Tannoy 15" speakers for sale, a certain percentage are being sold recently after they have had surround foam replaced. Perhaps a local purchase with inspection and audition is best if foams have not been replaced.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 4:57 am 

phaseshift wrote:
Perhaps a local purchase with inspection and audition is best if foams have not been replaced.

Thank you phaseshift. I have thought of that, HOWEVR, one of the sellers I spoke with has had the foam replaced with Rubber surrounds. Being a dyed-in-the-wool Celestion Ditton addict, I know the intrinsic value and longevity of rubber surrounds.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:19 am 

There has been a pair for sale on kijiji manitoba for over a year, but no cabinets. Might be worth looking at having a pair of cabs built locally versus shipping something that big.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:00 am 

hey Madcap!! I got your PM last week! If you want to hear my 1968 Tannoy Stuarts next time you're in the Bay you're welcome to!! But they only the 12" versions :(