Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:19 am
Posts: 33
Location: Marieville, QC, CA
Can anyone give me an idea as to why the tuner portion of my Heathkit AR-17 has stopped working. It has begun getting softer, needing the volume to be turned up and ther was a lot of hiss but now it has stopped working completely. It is not the selector switch. Could it be a bad tube, capacitor, etc? Any ideas? The amplifier works, I can tell by using my tape deck.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 11:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 1761
Location: saskatoon, SK, CA
Yup... could be leaky cap or weak tube.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:46 am 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor

Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 10:39 am
Posts: 156
Location: St. Catharines, ON, CA
If you're lucky you'll have access to a tube tester, assuming you don't have access to one, replace the tubes, if that doesn't fix it I would replace the supply filter cap and any coupling caps.

_________________
Gary, Better Music


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:55 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 5:04 pm
Posts: 1761
Location: saskatoon, SK, CA
Are there tubes in yours???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:19 am
Posts: 33
Location: Marieville, QC, CA
BinkyTheCat wrote:
Are there tubes in yours???


I'm no expert but don't the tall silver things house tubes? On second thought, perhaps not.

Attachment:
AR17.JPG
AR17.JPG [ 101.99 KiB | Viewed 2179 times ]


-- 28 Jul 2015 17:00 --

As a further explanation; while the tuner was somewhat working, it would lock on to a station and hold it even as you turned the tuning pointer 1/4 of the way across the dial. Then suddenly it would jump to another station and do the same thing again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:43 am 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 6:08 pm
Posts: 18450
Location: Montreal, QC, CA
It probably needs a good cleaning and full realignment. And no, the tall silver things do not house glass vacuum tubes,


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group