Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:48 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Sansui TU-9900
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:01 am 

Hello All-

Just looking for opinions here. I have a Sansui TU-9900 that I'm thinking of selling. It's a bit old & in need of adjustment, but very much a working unit. I have been thinking about putting the mods in place as described at http://www.fmtunerinfo.com/DIY.html. I'm also an advanced Radio Amateur, so no problems doing this, BUT- Would buyers prefer something completely original or brought up to date? Not sure what way to go to optimize the money I get out of it.

Cheers-

Kent

Post subject: Re: Sansui TU-9900
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:15 am 

The issue of modifications always creates debate. A lot of people would prefer it in original condition, but I would appreciate a unit that was recapped and upgraded. Having said that though, I would prefer a unit that has been serviced by a known technician. There have been horror stories.

I am not saying that you don't have the skills, I am saying that people don't know you have the skills. If you do take the project on, you should document your work with plenty of quality photos. Your tuner is a classic, and it deserves to be brought back to the performance that it is capable of. Good luck!

If you can use one of those newfangled Internets, you can post photos in your damn classified ads. :roll:

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:16 am 

if the updates change the sound then i would say its a problem, simply replacing out of spec items is fine.

most of us that purchase old stuff is for the sound characteristics of the items.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:23 am