Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:52 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 6:40 am 

Hi All,

This is my first time posting here so I'll make it as brief as I can. I am just getting back to hifi from years of nothingness since most of my money got sucked in by gaming PC upgrades after upgrades over the years.

I am new to Rega and personally know no one who owns one. Therefore, I humbly post this question to the more experienced and the not so experienced members of this site.

Background;
I purchased a new Rega Planar 3 TT (2016 version) 5 months ago and have made some modest mods to it.

- New TT-PSU (new one was just announced, no regrets here)
- New Rega reference white belt
- 3mm Funk Firm Achromat platter mat
- New Ceramic Bearing Ball (Si3N4), Grade 5 and re-oiled the bearing well and spindle
- New Groovetracer Universal Counterweight (costs $100 more than a Technoweight but I never warmed up to the idea of pulling out the end stub)
- Swapped Elys 2 to Exact 2 cartridge

The rest of my gear, if it matters, are all tube separates including my phonostage using Siemens CCA, Telefunken EF86 and Gold Lion KT88 tubes, Ice Age Audio copper/copper power cables, V.D.H The first ultimate mk 2 IC , Kimber Kable 8VS speaker wires, Tripplite LC1200 AVR and Axiom M22 v4 speakers (candidate for upgrade).

However, I was wondering if someone here has tried upgrading the subplatter of the new Rega P3 to a Groovetracer reference subplatter. If you have, can you please tell me what difference did it make? Was it worth the cost for upgrade?

For $400 CAD I am balking on this if this isn't worth the upgrade. If it isn't then I would rather upgrade my speakers to something else like a Reference 3a de capo.

I know that there are cheaper subplatter alternatives out there but I am only looking at the GT Reference subplatter. I do not want any regrets later on if I had to buy one.