Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:02 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:30 pm 

Not sure if anyone else has noticed, but I just paid for an item via Paypal in USD. Paypal "kindly" did the exchange for me in CAD. I did a quick check on mastercard us for the daily exchange rates and the USD to CAD rate was better. So I clicked the exchange rate options and selected to be charged in USD. On a $450 USD purchase it saved $20 CAD. So something to think about when using your credit card for an FX transaction.

Rob...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:45 pm 

pp is always pig on exchange rates......that is why they love me....

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 pm 

Be careful though, many cards will charge you and additional 2.5% fee just to do the conversion.

$450 * 2.5% = $11.25 (still better than paypal)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:03 pm 

I always pick my credit card rate. Even they are out to make money off you, but I don't want PayPal to take any more of my money.

Even on smaller purchases. I bought something that was like 22USD, and PayPal wanted $28.91CAd and my card rate was like $28.10... 81 cents on a very small transaction. Screw paypal.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:56 pm 

libor wrote:
pp is always pig on exchange rates......that is why they love me....

:lol: me too!!

Collecting vintage tube Pilot (Pilotone) HiFi gear.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:13 pm 

When purchasing something priced in $USD, the credit card I use is the amazon.ca visa card. It has no currency transaction fees. There is no annual fee for this card.

I have this credit card set up on my PayPal account. When I purchase something priced in $USD, I decline to have PayPal do the currency conversion. The credit card is billed in $USD and it does the conversion. You save a few percent that way.

There are probably other credit cards that have this feature.