Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Thu Aug 17, 2017 8:21 am 

I did a lot of room measurements in the last weeks and I wanted to share how small changes can affect your room response. Every room are different, what's happening for me will certainly differ in a different room. We can find a lot of good advices and calculation tools on internet, but that's almost for square or rectangular rooms. For the other rooms I guess measurements and experimentations will give you the better results. I'm open to suggestions and advices,correct me If I said something wrong.

I did my measurement with a usb minidsp Umik-1 with REW. I'm no expert but I improved my measurements method over the weeks as well as my understanding of acoustic.

viewtopic.php?f=36&t=47241

Here's how my room looks like (note that I changed the four panels configuration at the left)
Attachment:
Room setup.jpg
Room setup.jpg [ 32.17 KiB | Viewed 1735 times ]

Now let see what happen if the door at the back of the room is open or not.

Frequency response (REW's ''All SPL'' tab)
Blue = door open
Light green = door close
No smoothing
Attachment:
Comp freq.jpg
Comp freq.jpg [ 48.2 KiB | Viewed 1735 times ]

There's a peak at 43,7hz of 3 db, and other dips go lower. It still looks good but let see what happen with time.

RT60

Attachment:
Comp RT60.jpg
Comp RT60.jpg [ 55.45 KiB | Viewed 1735 times ]

Again Blue = door open, Light green = door close. It still in the range of 0.3ms to 0.5ms but clearly bass reflects or reverb longer.

Since RT60 won't give data below 60hz and since waterfall gives a better global portrait let's give a look at it

Waterfall blue = door open

Attachment:
Comp water open.jpg
Comp water open.jpg [ 101.6 KiB | Viewed 1735 times ]

We clearly see that the bass peak reverb pass 0.5ms, almost 800ms, which will result in a less clear bass note.