Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:17 pm 

I have a few basic questions regarding room treatment in my new listening room. Previously lived an in apartment where treatment was not a possibility and a dedicated room was not possible, so I've never tried this before.

It seems to me the hardwood floor is a reflection point that needs to be addressed, but I also think some basic (and hopefully budget minded) acoustic paneling might help behind the speakers. I get decent bass response but when I really turn up the volume the high end narrows and becomes bright to the point of fatigue.

I've found these two products online:

1 - http://www.avshop.ca/recording/acoustic-treatment/ultimate-acoustics-ua-wpw-12-wall-panel-pair

2 - http://www.avshop.ca/recording/acoustic-treatment/ultimate-acoustics-ua-wpb-12-wall-panel-pair

Pictures of the setup are attached. The back wall (behind the speakers) is 117 inches, I sit 115 inches away from the speakers. Speakers are each about 15 inches out from the side wall, 9 inches away from the back wall on the close edge, 11 inches away from the back wall on the far edge. Speakers are about 86 inches apart. I have nothing on the walls, and behind my couch is a computer desk/chair so I'm restricted in how far back I can move my seating position.

My system is composed of a Rotel RA-12 integrated, B&W 601 S2, Nordost Blue Heaven PC on the RA-12 and Cardas QuadLink 5C speaker cable. The brightness comes on earlier in the volume scale and stronger on digital sources (MBP with glass optical cable into the digital input on the RA-12) but still exists on some vinyl (Pro-Ject Debut Carbon with 2M Red, Acryl-It, Speedbox S, AudioQuest Red River IC with custom ground cable). CDs through the Denon 2800 transport (using a Cardas QuadLink 5C PC and older AQ VDM IC) sound similar to the laptop.