Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:51 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:46 am 

Hello all,

I'll open with a disclaimer: I'm not an expert in room acoustics, this project is the culmination of having read about the topic of room treatment for a number of years, and finally dedicating myself to do something to improve my listening room/home cinema.

After a lot of careful planning, I built a listening room/cinema/family room in the basement of our new house, on a budget. I finished it one year ago. It is about 21' x 15', with the screen and speakers on the long side of the room. The ceiling joists are 9' above, so once I boxed in some duct work and beams, I was able to still have a high ceiling, with LED valence lighting for effect. The room has no windows, so it's as dark as a cave in its natural glory.

Here's a picture of the room shortly after completion (equipment and decor have changed a bit since then):

I designed the room so that it is not a perfect rectangle; the front corners are broken (twice), the room has several different depths (front to back) and the ceiling cascades in two or three different heights in an effort to combat standing waves and break reflections. The main walls are paralell, however.

The effort to break things up seems to have been successful, as measurements I have done have shown almost flat response in the FR, with a bump at 45Hz and 90Hz (room modes). A simple clap test revealed that flutter and ringing was an issue, especially between the front and rear walls, which are bare on the top 2/3 except for the 100" projection screen (which is acoustically reflective). This week I set out to see if I could remedy this problem.