Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2017 7:15 am 

I have been using my Squeezebox touch for the past 4 years to stream my FLAC files from my computer to my 2 channel audio system. In the past 2 years I have migrated to using my Squeezbox touch more and more with Spotify to play music on my 2 channel system. As of 3 weeks ago the Squeezbox touch is no longer supported by Spotify and I can no longer access Spotify.

Any suggestions on what to replace my Squeezebox touch with that will allow me to access my FLAC files on my PC and also play Spotify? I am looking for something that sounds good but also reasonably priced. I also have a seperate tube DAC that I use currently with my Squeezebox touch. I have read there is a seperate program called "spotty" that some people are using now to run Spotify on their Squeezebox touch but it seems to be a pain in the butt to setup and run. I am looking for something hopefully also pretty easy to setup.

Thanks for any ideas offered!

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:50 pm 

A Raspberry Pi3 should solve your problem.

Do you have Apple products in your house? If so you could use Airplay to the Pi. Even use a HiFiBerry Digi+ Pro with coax out to your dac (they even sell a nice steel case so not to look tacky). It sounds very good and this is what I have setup for my gf to use Airplay.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:19 am 

Watching with interest.

Collecting vintage tube Pilot (Pilotone) HiFi gear.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 5:55 am 

Title edited to make topic easier to find.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:58 am 

I encountered the same issue with my SB Touch, so I dropped Spotify and switched to Deezer, which runs seemlessly on the SB. Same sound quality.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 1:58 pm