Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:23 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 8:57 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 6:03 pm
Posts: 1244
Location: Vancouver, BC, CA
Hi everyone,

Last night, at around 4:48AM EST (1:48AM PST) our hosting company had a network outtage that took down all the AudioMart sites.

The outtage lasted until 9:00AM EST (6:00AM PST) but was intermittently "working" sometime after 8:00AM EST (5AM PST). Unfortunately, during the outtage, some of our nightly maintenance tasks were running and because the network connections were down, caused some corruption in some of our files, so when the network outtage ended at 9AM EST the site was still "down" until we could fix it around 2hrs later.

This kind of extended outtage is unusual for our hosting company, so I'll be trying to reach them through the week to get an idea what happened. Further, we'll be exploring ways to reduce our chance of damaging the site during overnight maintenance if the site doesn't have network access. Outtages at the Network and Hosting level are "utilities" level problems beyond our control unfortunately (much like a power outtage due to down power lines) and these companies always have multiple layers of redundancies to avoid the type of problem we experienced last night, so we want to make sure those utilities services are robust and find out what went wrong when they have any problems.

Everything *should* be back to normal now, but if it isn't you may let us know in this thread.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thanks as usual for your patience!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group