Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:34 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: electrical outlet box
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 364
Location: Toronto
I have a dedicated line running to my basement. The outlet box is attached to pine paneling which is affixed to the concrete block wall with strapping rather than a stud wall. To accommodate a Furutech 20a outlet, I upgraded the wire to 12/2 and switched to a 2 inch deep box from 1.5. I also drilled a half inch deep outline of the box into the concrete block to keep the outlet flush with the wall.

The sound has taken on a metallic or hard edge. At first I thought it was the outlet breaking in but too much time has passed. It was tough squeezing the Furutech into a metal box. I'm thinking about building a short stud wall to keep the outlet box off the concrete and/or switching to a more flexible plastic box. Any thoughts or experience that you can share. It might just be a decline in my hearing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:46 pm
Posts: 710
Location: Markham, ON, CA
Are you using any type of power conditioner? The method of mounting the outlet box will not affect the sound....your issue is the current being delivered.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 6:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 8:08 am
Posts: 979
Location: burlington, ON, CA
Found this on the Internet

BOX
1-check polarity-correct or different polarity than old?
2-Was any creme-no lox or anti-arcing or gold type mtl used/
3-how are the ground wires connected? This is important.
PANEL
4-At panel was same breaker used or a different one? a heavy duty thicker in girth breaker? Made of Aluminum or copper? Was anti-arcing creme used? any such thing?
5-How is the grounding in the box from this line connected? Direct to screw bolt/washer or onto a paint surface or inside a marrette or grounding block direct? With anti-arcing creme or some such?
6A-Was the physical location on the bars in the very same location meaning the same side off the mains? was any other work done inside the panel at the same time?
6B-Was the box load balanced re equal load both legs off the panel?


Last edited by speedy1 on Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:38 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:44 pm
Posts: 364
Location: Toronto
Thanks for the replies. I run a P10 for my front end but I have tried using a Duet instead and it made just a small difference. I've switched out all my equipment except the cables. I'll have to try that.

I do run LED lights all over the house including T8's in my listening room. I haven't changed the ground wire but a wireless water meter has been installed next to the connection on the water pipe. I did notice that things have gotten worse since my electrician neighbor moved in several years ago. A fridge has been moved and I just noticed the old connection which was supposedly dedicated isn't grounded. When I turn off the breaker for that connection, I can make phone calls but anyone calling me gets a message indicating my Rogers voice mail has not been turned on. It's a 65 year old house that was upgraded to breakers in the mid 90's.

I'm going to get an electrician, maybe my neighbor, to check everything.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group