Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 6:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 4:22 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Etobicoke, ON, CA
Hello everyone, sorry for the newbie question, thank you for the help in advance. Setting up my ht in the basement, everything is going well so far, however I wanted to know if it's possible to connect two amps, to my classe ssp-800. One amp is a 3 channel anthem mca-30 that I will use for the front and centre speakers, the surrounds will powered by a anthem pva-7 using only the rear and surround channels. My question is I would like to use the xlr connections on the mca-30, however the pva-7 only has rca connections. Is it possible to do this? Thank for the help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:06 pm
Posts: 990
Location: hawkesbury, ON, CA
you would not gain anything, unless both pre amp and amp are xlr . unless you already have a cable that is rca one end and xlr at the other end . if that is the case, you could do it , but with no sonic improvement , it would sound the same as rca to rca.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 7:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2370
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
zon001 wrote:
you would not gain anything, unless both pre amp and amp are xlr . unless you already have a cable that is rca one end and xlr at the other end . if that is the case, you could do it , but with no sonic improvement , it would sound the same as rca to rca.

recognizing that you do not get the effect of a true balanced connection, my experience with this scenario contradicts your statement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 8:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 1:02 pm
Posts: 143
Location: Napanee, ON, CA
zon001 wrote:
you would not gain anything, unless both pre amp and amp are xlr . unless you already have a cable that is rca one end and xlr at the other end . if that is the case, you could do it , but with no sonic improvement , it would sound the same as rca to rca.


All due respect, zon, but I don't think the OP is trying to gain anything other than the ability to hook the two things together. In which case wouldn't either a cable with one end RCA and the other end XLR do the trick? Or RCA at both ends and use RCA/XLR adapters at one end? Any reason that wouldn't work?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 9:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:52 pm
Posts: 1005
Location: Montreal, QC, CA
Yes absolutely but you will no longer benefit from a balanced line. You just need to convert from balanced XLR to unbalanced RCA.

XLR pin #1 > RCA shield
XLR pin #2 > RCA tip
XLR pin #3 > RCA shield


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2017 10:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 12:40 am
Posts: 13
Location: Edmonton, AB, CA
From the way interpet this post, this man is not trying to adapt rca/xlr connections. The classe has xlr inputs and rca inputs, the guy would like you hook some amps up that have xlr output and a different amp with rca outputs. So the answer is yes, hook up the first amp xlr output to xlr input on your classe And the next amp output rca to rca input on your classe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:06 pm
Posts: 990
Location: hawkesbury, ON, CA
dc23 wrote:
zon001 wrote:
you would not gain anything, unless both pre amp and amp are xlr . unless you already have a cable that is rca one end and xlr at the other end . if that is the case, you could do it , but with no sonic improvement , it would sound the same as rca to rca.


All due respect, zon, but I don't think the OP is trying to gain anything other than the ability to hook the two things together. In which case wouldn't either a cable with one end RCA and the other end XLR do the trick? Or RCA at both ends and use RCA/XLR adapters at one end? Any reason that wouldn't work?

it would work, but adding connectors, or adaptors is not improving sound.you would be dealing with 2 extra adaptors on each channel.

-- 02 Jan 2017 12:07 --

mpublicover wrote:
zon001 wrote:
you would not gain anything, unless both pre amp and amp are xlr . unless you already have a cable that is rca one end and xlr at the other end . if that is the case, you could do it , but with no sonic improvement , it would sound the same as rca to rca.

recognizing that you do not get the effect of a true balanced connection, my experience with this scenario contradicts your statement.

what would be the gain, the amp is rca only. so it would just swap connectors. no audible gain


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 5:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:52 pm
Posts: 462
Location: Waverley, NS, CA
madscotian wrote:
From the way interpet this post, this man is not trying to adapt rca/xlr connections. The classe has xlr inputs and rca inputs, the guy would like you hook some amps up that have xlr output and a different amp with rca outputs. So the answer is yes, hook up the first amp xlr output to xlr input on your classe And the next amp output rca to rca input on your classe.


I agree, he is trying to use 2 different amps that he has, one has both outputs, the other only rca.

He would benefit from xlr to xlr to the mca, but not on the rca only pva, or the could just use rca from both. Or find a MCA50.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 5:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 11:02 am
Posts: 1075
Location: Kingston, ON, CA
Majestic wrote:
My question is I would like to use the xlr connections on the mca-30, however the pva-7 only has rca connections. Is it possible to do this? Thank for the help!


While it is certainly possible to do what you ask with an XLR to RCA cable (https://www.amazon.ca/Monoprice-104777-6-Feet-Premier-16AWG/dp/B001VLW398), the bigger question is: why bother? Why not just go RCA to RCA?

As has been mentioned, there is no disadvantage to using the MCA's RCA outputs?

_________________
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." (Aristotle, 384-322 BCE)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 6:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:17 pm
Posts: 2370
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CA
[/quote]
what would be the gain, the amp is rca only. so it would just swap connectors. no audible gain[/quote]
perhaps the higher gain values associated with XLR inputs on the amps as well as the output on the dac I had provided for the difference, but I did realize a fuller presentation in these cases using rca-xlr and xlr-rca when one component was not equipped with xlr connections.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 10:17 am
Posts: 1
Location: Montreal, QC, CA
Majestic wrote:
My question is I would like to use the xlr connections on the mca-30, however the pva-7 only has rca connections. Is it possible to do this? Thank for the help!


Yes it is possible. The SSP-800 has XLR and RCA connectors for each channel. And it is really easy to configure. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:36 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:01 pm
Posts: 1044
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Majestic wrote:
Hello everyone, sorry for the newbie question, thank you for the help in advance. Setting up my ht in the basement, everything is going well so far, however I wanted to know if it's possible to connect two amps, to my classe ssp-800. One amp is a 3 channel anthem mca-30 that I will use for the front and centre speakers, the surrounds will powered by a anthem pva-7 using only the rear and surround channels. My question is I would like to use the xlr connections on the mca-30, however the pva-7 only has rca connections. Is it possible to do this? Thank for the help!


Yes. Go for it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:13 am 
Offline
Dealer/Sponsor
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:21 am
Posts: 114
Location: London, ON, CA
I agree with "tube54". Just connect up as you have described and carefully set your channel levels on the preamp/processor and enjoy.

Michael,
PC audio,
"Let Your Music Out"
http://www.pcaudio.ca

_________________
PC audio


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group