Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:17 pm
Posts: 364
Location: Delta, BC, CA
Please define a 'normal amp'???[/quote]
Not a KR amp :)[/quote]

It's what makes it 'special'... :idea:

Lamborghini is not a 'normal' car!!! :lol:[/quote]
I do run a KR Antares amp..very nice amp with a lot more current than a 300b which is the closest equivalant..puts out roughly 14w class A, might get exciting if I threw a regular 300b tube in :shock:
I run the 842VHD tubes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:37 am 
Offline
Premium User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:44 pm
Posts: 6143
Location: Toronto, ON, CA
vonclod wrote:
I do run a KR Antares amp..very nice amp with a lot more current than a 300b which is the closest equivalant..puts out roughly 14w class A, might get exciting if I threw a regular 300b tube in :shock:
I run the 842VHD tubes.


I had a KR Antares amp and was so impressed by the 842VHD tube that I had my Pearl Monoblocks modified so they would accept that tube.

I have a pair in each amp which are outputting 25watts per channel.

_________________
I Put A Spell On You!!!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 9:17 pm
Posts: 364
Location: Delta, BC, CA
Voodoo Funk wrote:
vonclod wrote:
I do run a KR Antares amp..very nice amp with a lot more current than a 300b which is the closest equivalant..puts out roughly 14w class A, might get exciting if I threw a regular 300b tube in :shock:
I run the 842VHD tubes.


I had a KR Antares amp and was so impressed by the 842VHD tube that I had my Pearl Monoblocks modified so they would accept that tube.

I have a pair in each amp which are outputting 25watts per channel.

Me likey 8)
What did you have to do to the Pearl's to run 842s?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 9:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:43 am
Posts: 850
Location: Stratford, ON, CA
Hi,

Wow! Getting back to the OP's ask to us. I checked out the on-line user manual for the McIntosh 275 and was astonished to see that there is no user bias adjustment possible. Is it possible to sell a $4000 tube amp without any user bias settings? Is this a strategy to keep the owner returning to the dealer for an annual tune-up? Were the original versions of the 275 also user bias free or just the newer versions?

It doesn't even indicate in the manual that the newer version is autobias. If it is autobias than any KT88 will work fine, and anyway McIntosh doesn't make tubes, but they may rebox tubes made elsewhere under their label. It's like T-shirts. You can buy them with a Nike logo emblazoned on the back and pay three times the price of another logo, but they are all made by about three off-shore firms that don't even bother to sell manufactured stuff under their own proprietary 'label'.

Cheers,
David Neice

_________________
Chinese Proverb: 'Man who waits for roast duck to fly into mouth, waits very, very long time'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 7:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:43 am
Posts: 850
Location: Stratford, ON, CA
Hi,

Any Sunday morning McIntosh guys want to weigh in with a comment or two for this poster? The thread got a bit off-centre.

Cheers,
David Neice

_________________
Chinese Proverb: 'Man who waits for roast duck to fly into mouth, waits very, very long time'.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2017 8:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:30 pm
Posts: 293
Location: Regina, SK, CA
What I find weird about this 'my Kt88 is different than their KT88', is that the number of a tube is meant to underwrite the specification of the tube type. Certain voltage, bias etc.
Once you manufacture a tube by number with different specs, it is no longer that tube.
If tube amp manufactures have custom tubes by unknown sources built with specs that differ than the book specs, they should be assignng a -1, -2. Or -a, -b etc. This is how you will see some tubes listed in tube catalogs, and on tube tester data logs to set the machine to test a certain tube. This may be the case for the tubes in discussion, but the information may be yet uncovered.

The specification of a tube also includes physical dimensions of the pin base. Pin length, diameter included.

Being I grew up testing tubes in my dad's shop for customer's tv and radio equipment, It stumps me a bit on how the physical base part of this op's problem caused any malfunction, unless the tube was defectively built, and a pin cracked the bottom of the socket. It is possible user error during insertion caused some damage to the socket, but the technician chose the route of brand preference. The rest of the story and commentary about a certain KT88 electrical specification differences makes me say hmmmm. There has to be documentation by a 'standard' to set them apart from each other to prevent confusion. But we are in a different era....user beware.

_________________
Vintage has a place.....mostly in my basement.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group