Canuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio ForumCanuck Audio Mart Hifi and Audio Forum
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:28 am 

Hey there, I'm an electrician and have a bunch of good quality wire kicking around and thought it would be fun to try making my own version of "audiophile" speaker cable. Right now I'm just running 14/2 speaker wire from my Parasound Halo A23 to a pair of Dynaudio Focus 160. I can't possibly ever imagine spending the kind of money some of you guys have on buying high end cables. I see power cords for $750, "audiophile" grade AC receptacles etc etc... And I have to say, unless you are re-building your entire circuit wiring back to the panel out of solid gold, I don't understand the desire to blow money on something that will ultimately be bottlenecked by your home power supply.

Anyways, chuck your stones at my ignorance, but I would still like to know if any of you have done your own twisted or braided speaker wire and if you noticed any difference at all in the results, when you aren't powering something that requires more than 200 watts.

And if you have done it, I'll be using 14 AWG stranded copper speaker wire, obviously with either 2 or 4 wires terminating into banana jacks, so what kind of jacks did you terminate with and where did you get them?

Thanks!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:34 am 

welcome......

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:52 am 

You could try cat5 or 6 type diy speaker wire. If you search on line you will find lots of info on how it's been done. Cat 5 wires are 24g. Doubling the number of wires subtracts 3 from the gauge number so 8 wires is 15 gauge, 16 is 12 etc. I'm with you on the 150$ wall plugs etc. If I have a loose or old duplex receptacle I replace it with a spec grade one and I'm done.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 9:15 am 

I bought nice cable all around except speaker cables.